Van Allen Building (Petersen-Harned-Von Maur, Inc.), 200 5th Avenue South; 1913- 1915; Louis Sullivan, Architect,
of Chicago; Daniel Haring, Contractor.
The Van Allen Building consists of four floors plus basement and attic.
The exterior has brick spandrels and piers over the structural steel skeletal frame. Terra cotta is used for horizontal
accent banding and for three vertical applied mullion medallions on the front façade. Marble facing is used around
the glass show windows on the first floor. In 1976, Phil Feddersen, Architect, of Clinton, established a rehabilitation program
for the building. The deteriorated Luxor Prism windows above the first-floor show windows were replaced by solar bronze
sheet glass. The entry doors of aluminum, which replaced the original wood doors, were in turn replaced by glass and
mahogany doors. The building is an excellent and important work if Architect Louis Sullivan. The building design is
dignified, with emphasis on the modern expression of the steel skeletal frame. At the same time, some terra cotta ornamentation
is applied in Sullivan's unique style of Floral inspiration design. (National Historic Landmark)
Ankeny Building, 201-211 5th Avenue South; 1930; Harold Holmes, Architect, of Chicago; Daniel Haring, Contractor.
Two stories in height, the building street facades are clad with cream-colored terra cotta panels. Upper story
windows are steel and lass in a stylized "Chicago window" expression. Signs and some storefront revisions
are the only changed to the original architecture. The building is a good local example of the so-called "Modernistic
Style" or Art Deco Style. The terra cotta ornament is expressive of the Art Deco movement. (Listed National Register
of Historic Places)
Wilson Building (J. C. Penney/Wilson Building), 217 5th Avenue South, 1812-1914; John
Morrell & Son, Architects, of Clinton; Daniel Haring, Contractor.
The building is the tallest one downtown and is
a major landmark. The front façade is of white terra cotta. The vertical lines are accented in the typical
"skyscraper" fashion of Sullivan. Horizontal spandrels of terra cotta claddings and ornament over the structural
beams are suppressed so that the vertical piers can de dominant. Changes from the original construction include removal
of a heavy, projecting cornice at the roof line, replacement of the double-hung windows, and ground-floor storefront alterations.
The building is a good local example of the Commercial Style which was originally derived from the "Chicago School of
Architecture". The front façade is richly textured, patterned and ornamented—yet, the major lines
of the structure still retain definition and appropriateness. (Eligible for National Register of Historic Places)
1st National Bank (vacant), 226-228 5th Avenue South; 191101912; John Morrell & Son, Architects, of Clinton; Daniel
This bank building, now vacant, is two stories high and fifty feet wide. The front façade
is of dressed stone and is distinguished by a central portical of flanking, fluted ionic columns which support a pediment.
The facade is marred by a metal marquee and sign. However, the building is still a good local example of the Neo-Classical
Revival Style of the early 20th Century. (Listed National Register of Historic Places)
Room (vacant), 230 5th Avenue South; c. 1870. This vacant commercial building is of brick, with segmented arches at
the upper-story window heads. The facade is of simplified Italianate Style. The building is intact except for
the first-floor storefront which has been drastically altered. For years, a well-known tea room was located here.
The restaurant interior is reportedly intact and preserved, with historic finishes.
Lamb Block & Masonic Temple (F. W. Woolworth/Jacobsen Building), 242-246 5th Avenue South; 1886; Josiah L. Rice, Architect,
A large, three-story building of red brick with stone "flat-arched" windows. It has street
facades in relief with fluted piers and string courses. The ground-floor storefronts have been "modernized"
and the easterly frontage of the building has been rebuilt and reclad. Highly eclectic in design, the building combines elements
of the Second Empire Style (such as the mansard roof and cornice treatment); the High Victorian Gothic Style (such as
the fluted pilasters with vertical emphasis and window head treatment). In addition, the Chateauesque Style influence
is evident with the double window grouping and general freedom of organization. (Eligible for National Register of Historic
U. S. Post Office, 301 5th Avenue South; 1901-1902; James Knox Taylor, Supervising Architect, U.
S. Treasury Department; Louis Simon, Architect; M. Yeager & Son, Contractor.
A large, one and one-half story building,
the Post Office is clad with stone and has a flat roof. An addition of similar style was built to the rear in 1934 by
John Redding, contractor, of Whiting, Indiana with Henry Hines as Construction Engineer. The entry steps on the east
were a 1966 revision as designed by the GSA Design and construction Division, Region 6, Kansas City, Missouri.The Building
is highly eclectic in design derivation. The massiveness, monumentality, use of Ionic column capitals, and other
classical elements are of Neo-Classical Revival Style, while the emphasis on raked horizontal joints of the stonework and
window head work suggests a rustification and scale of Renaissance Style-inspired design. (Eligible for National Register
of Historic Places)
Charles F. Curtis Coach House, (rear) 417 5th Avenue South; c. 1885; Josiah L. Rice,
Architect, of Clinton.
This is the coach house for the Charles Curtis mansion. It is located at the rear of the
wide side yard and east of the mansion. The coach house is of brick with a steeply pitched roof. The building
was remodeled in 1965 with apartments constructed. Alterations include removal of a centrally located cupola from the
roof ridge and installation of aluminum storm windows. Like the mansion, the design of the coach house is of Queen Anne
Style; however, it is more reserved in the variety of materials employed, and makes use of symmetry.
Charles F. Curtis
House (Fifth Avenue Realty Apartments), 417 5th Avenue South; c. 1885; John Fegan, Builder.
This Mansion is of brick
with stone trim. A corner turret, which formerly had a conical roof, anchors the northeast corner of the building and
acts as a pivot between the wide side yard and the front yard. The building has now been converted to apartment use.
In the mode of the Queen Anne Style, the design of the mansion employs a variety of materials, textures, colors, and patterns.
Very opulent and extravagant with material usage, the building was a showcase of one of the co-owners of the Curtis Company
woodworking factory of Clinton. George M. Curtis Coach House ("Carriage House Community Theater"), 420 5th Avenue
South (rear); c. 1885; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of Clinton.The Coach House has a brick lower story, wood shingle upper story,
and newer asphalt shingle gabled roof. The building has been converted to a theater for the Clinton Community Theater.
Like the mansion, the building is of Queen Anne Style but is more quiet in design, with symmetrical composition and fewer
diverse forms and materials than the mansion. This approach, however, it appropriate and the two buildings together
create a pleasant setting of historic architecture. (Eligible for National Register of Historic Places)
M. Curtis House (The Clinton Woman's Club), 420 5th Avenue South; c. 1880.
A large. two and one-half story brick
veneer mansion, the building makes sumptuous use of materials—especially brick—and a variety of roof planes and
windows. The original, lacy wood porch has been replaced by the present semicircular in plan, was removed in the 1940's.
The building is now used for the Clinton Woman's Club, which purchased the house in 1925. The mansion is a good example
of the Queen Anne Style. An important house for an important industrialist in the history of Clinton, the building is
notable—a fact that is recognized by the state in its approval of the building for National Register status.
(Listed National Register of Historic Places)
A. G. Smith House (Clinton Manor Nursing Home—vacant),
421 5th Avenue South; 1914-1915; John Morrell & Son, Architects, of Clinton; Haring Brothers, Builder.
brick mansion with hip roof, the building was converted to an elderly care facility but now is vacant and for sale.
Rectilinear and symmetrical, the building design suggests a Classical Revival Style influence. However, it also show
a Prairie School Style influence in the use of warm colored brick and a horizontal emphasis, as expressed in the trim and
broad, hip roof with paired brackets. The building design was progressive for its time. (Eligible for National
Register of Historic Places)
Oscar Klein House (St. John's Episcopal Church parsonage). 503 5th Avenue
A two-story brick house with stone trim, it has a broad, overhanging hip roof. The building has an
enclosed one-story "sun porch" on the east and an entry porch with flanking brick piers on the north. The
design of the building was obviously influenced by the Prairie School Style movement. This influence is exhibited by
the general building massing, grouping of windows, the strong horizontal lines defined by the hip roof eave lines, and the
stone string course at the line of the second-floor window sills. Concessions to traditional design include the use
of double-hung windows and chimney set to the side, instead of centralized position. (Eligible for National Register
of Historic Places)
H. W. Seaman House (James Hass Apartments), 516 5th Avenue South; 1904; John Morrell
& Son, Architects, of Clinton; Daniel Haring, Builder.
The house makes use of warm-hued brick, terra cotta, store
trim, and tiled hip roof. The former mansion has been converted to twelve apartments. The design of the building
is eclectic with use of symmetry and rustification of the lower-story "base" in the Renaissance Revival Style.
The design also freely borrows from the Georgian Revival Style. This influence includes the front porch Ionic columns
and the stylized Palladian window motif above the porch. In addition, the hip roof and horizontal emphasis suggests
and awareness of Prairie School Style development in Chicago. (Eligible for National Register of Historic Places)
VFW/Iowa National Guard (Iowa National Guard), 213 6th Avenue South; c. 1947; Walter E. Bort, Architect, of Clinton;
Daniel Haring, Contractor.
A two-story building approximately 45 feet wide, it is faced with marble. Originally
designed for the VFW (Veterans of Foreign Wars), its ownership changed during construction and it was converted to a National
Guard Armory. A vehicular entrance, with garage door, is centered on the first floor. The Armory stands on the
site of the Clinton Theater and is a rare Clinton example of so-called "Modernistic" Style. The clean, simple
lines of the building and the stylized figure reliefs as ornamental features are characteristically Modernistic.
Wilcox/George L. Curtis House, 402 6th Avenue South; c. 1869, 1880.
A two-story brick house with a to-story
wraparound front porch, the building incorporated an earlier structure built in 1869. It was rebuilt in 1880 for the
Wilcox family and again in 1906 for George Curtis. The two-story wood porches were constructed c. 1907. The building,
of eclectic design, can perhaps be most closely identified with Renaissance Revival Style. Altered by successive influential
industrialists, the house is a handsome reminder of the past in Clinton.
A. F. Hopkins House, 430 7th Avenue
South; c. 1886; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of Clinton.
Once a fine residence, the house has been converted to a four-unit
apartment building. The building has stone foundation walls, wood siding, upper-story wood shingles, and stucco panels
with wood trim at the gables. A corner turret and arched window in the roof gable are the same brown color, the house
design has been improved by the quieting of the original busy detailing of the Queen Anne Style.
Power House, 444 7th Avenue South; c. 1870.
The house is of frame construction with foundation walls of stone.
It is a good local example of an early adaptation of the Renaissance Revival Style. The wide, overhanging hip roof with
brackets and the cast-iron railing atop the roof of the later, Queen Anne Style inspired porch are the major features of interest.
Union Iron Works' Iowa Machine Works & Foundry, 106 8th Avenue South; c. 1856.
An early brick
industrial building, it has a gable roof with a "false front" of a high, stepped parapet for the major, street façade.
Engaged brick pilasters on the front divide the façade into two equal bays. The large, west door has been altered
and raised to allow truck service while the east door in the main façade retains the segmented-arch, original appearance.
Twentieth-century additions flank and extend the rear of the original building. Simple and utilitarian but warm and
handsome in appearance, the building is a good example of functional vernacular design of early industrial architecture in
Iowa. (Potentially Eligible National Historic Register)
Public Library, 306 8th
Avenue South 1903-1904; Patton & Miller, Architects, of Chicago; Daniel Haring, Builder.
A two-story building with
basement, the library has exterior walls of cut and dressed limestone. A matching addition to the rear houses the main
two-level stack area. Other exterior changes include a "modern" canopy and entry at grade level to the basement.
The main doors to the library have been replaced with modern aluminum ones, and pipe railing have been added to the entry
steps. Of eclectic design in the Beaux Arts Classicism Style manner, the library has a monumental entry with professional
steps and flanking, paired columns. Symemetry of design and borrowing of Greek and Roman—inspired elements complete
the composition. The design was the work of Chicago architects, Patton and Miller. They designed many Carnegie
libraries in the Midwest in the early part of this century, including the old library at Mason City, Iowa (which is very similar
in design to Clinton's) and the library in Charles City, Iowa. (Listed National Register of Historic Places)
Lafayette Lamb House (YWCA/Gateway YWCA), 317 7th Avenue South; 1877, rebuilt 1906; W. W. Sanborn, Architect,
of Clinton; J. C. Clausen, Superintendent of Construction.
Built in 1877 with red brick, mansard rood, and turreted tower,
the wood stud-framed building was rebuilt in 1906. The original brick veneer was removed and the gray cement brick of
the Iowa Granite Brick company installed. The roof was rebuilt as a flat roof and the tower was removed. Built
as the mansion of a lumber baron, the house was donated to the YWCA in 1920. Subsequently, many alterations were made
and additions built.The Lafayette Lamb mansion, as originally built, was of Second Empire Style but the 1906 "modernization'
resulted in a building that more closely resembles Georgian Revival Style. The sheer bulk of such a large, brick veneer
building, combined with its association with the Lamb and Carpenter families, contribute to the significance of the building.
The building has been approved on the state level for National Register status. (Listed National Register of Historic
St. Mary's Church, 520 9th Avenue South; 1884-1888; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of Clinton.
large church structure of brick with extensive use of stone trim, the building has a simple gable roof, imposing corner tower,
and pointed, arched windows. Although designed by Rice with a tall, pointed steeple, the building was completed with
the tower terminated just above the eaveline of the main gable roof. After 1904, some of the tower was added with brick
and a belfrey of dressed stone. The entry doors are recent replacements of aluminum and glass. Of imposing scale,
the church is a good local example of Gothic Revival Style design. (Potentially Eligible National Historic Register)
St. Mary's Rectory, 516 9th Avenue South; 1896; Josiah L. Rice, architect, of Clinton.
A large, two and
one-half story rectory, the building has brick exterior walls with stone window lintels. A corner tower with turret
and wraparound wood front porch are notable features of the design. Of Queen Anne Style with Romanesque Style overtones,
the design—through simple handling of the walls, window openings and use of brick-creates a handsome, imposing yet warm
and humanly scaled structure that is appropriate for a church rectory. (Potentially Eligible National Historic Register)
C&NW Railroad Station (Old Railroad Station/flea Market), 317 11th Avenue South; 1915-1917.
A long, one-story red brick building, it was a railroad passenger station but now houses a flea market. The higher
section of the building has large, arched window openings. The entire building is hip-roofed, except for a dominant
gable roof, on cross axis, to identify the major entrance. All of the roofing is of red tile. The building is
a handsome design that is influenced by the Italian Romanesque Style. (Eligible National Register of Historic Places)
First Presbyterian Church, 410 5th Avenue South; 1927-1929; Coolidge & Hodgdon, Architects, of Chicago;
Daniel Haring, contractor.
A sprawling church complex, the sanctuary "anchors" the corner at the 5th Avenue
South-South 4th Street intersection. The educational wing and parish hall extend around the rear and opposite property
line to form an open courtyard. The "open" street side of the court was originally designed to be closed by
a two-story manse and tower. The church is an excellent example of the late Gothic Revival Style. It utilizes
a simple forms and picturesque massing with emphasis on richly textured stone walls. (Eligible National Historic Register)
Universalist/Apostolic Church of God/Sacred Heart (Sacred Heart Catholic Church), 316 South 4th Street; c.
1870; W. Pashley, Architect/Builder. Built c. 1870 as a frame structure, the church was extensively remodeled c. 1893.
Brick veneer was added over the wood siding; the entry doors were relocated from the tower base to a centralized position
which required alternation of a large window; and, a rosette window in the gable was replaced by brick and a stone cross.
Lancet windows were created below and flanking the cross. In addition, an open, Gothic Revival Style belfry was added
above the tower. A series of small dormers in the roof have been eliminated. Recent alterations include; re-siding
the portion of the original wood tower that was retained, and replacing the school built to the north in 1893 with a new school
building. The church is an example of Gothic Revival Style. Built as a Universalist sanctuary. The building was
occupied about 1875 by the Apostolic Church of God, and anti-Catholic congregation; in 1891, the building was purchased for
an outlying mission of St. Boniface in Lyons. Then in 1893, Sacred Heart Roman Catholic Church obtained individual identity.
Note: Date on building is 1891, which is the year Sacred Heart Church began, not the construction date of the building.
(Potentially Eligible National Historic Register)
St. John's Episcopal Church, 240 4th Avenue South; 1898;
Josiah L. Rice. Architect, of Clinton; John Lake, Builder.
The building is constructed of Anamosa limestone with Bedford
limestone trim. The interior woodwork is of native red oak. The interior changes include the addition of a wall
of mosaics behind the altar in 1910-11 and replacement of the original "cathedral" stained glass windows with new
art glass designs in 1977-79. Exterior changes include a parish hall addition 1948, designed by James Loftus of Omaha,
Nebraska, and built by Ole Jorgensen and Sons in 1953. The church, designed in Gothic Revival Style, conveys a feeling
of strength and solidarity through the use of stone as the major building material. At the same time, a sense of warmth
and human scale is achieved—mainly by means of the highly textured wall surfaces of quarry faced stone. (Eligible
National Register of Historic Places)
Whitney Merkley House/C. C. Fay House (American Federal Savings &
Loan Association), 331 4th Avenue South; 1884.
A two and one-half story brick structure with corner turret and wide front
porch, the building has been successfully converted from residential to commercial use. This conversion, done with sympathy
and with minimal change to the house, has successfully preserved an architectural piece of the past. Rich in textures
and patterns of the Queen Anne Style, the former mansion is now the home of American Federal Savings and Loan. (Potentially
Eligible National Historic Register)
Johnson/Huston House, 500 4th Avenue South; 1871.
This fine residence
has a wide, overhanging hip roof. A "widow's walk" atop the roof and original front and side porches have
been removed. Although of Italianate Style influence, the house appearance is more restrained and refined than that
usually associated with the style. The red-hued brickwork is excellently done and creates a humanly scaled and textured
setting of warmth and invitation. The house was built for
the Johnson family; the Dunns are recorded to have acquired
the property in 1886; and, the Huston acquisition was in 1893. (Potentially Eligible National Historic Register)
Ed J. Kreiger Apartments (Dalton/Proffer/Krueger Apartments), 503-505 3rd Avenue South; 1919; Ed Krieger,
A large, rectilinear building with broad, overhanging hip roof and arched window
openings, it has exterior wall surfaces of richly textured, cream-colored stucco with lower wall surfaces of red brick.
Terra cotta, richly ornamented and colored in blue and white glazes, decorates the entry arch supports. The building
has a uniquely original design that combines a Mediterranean Style approach with the horizontal lines, brick base, hip roof,
and terra cotta ornament of the Prairie School Style.
Leander Sisco House, 505 10th Avenue South; c. 1868.
This two-story brick house is hip-roofed with soffit brackets. Windows with arched
"eyebrows" and quoined corners are other distinguishing features. The broad front porch is a later addition.
The house is a good local and intact example of the Italianate Style.
Edward Andrew House, 535 10th Avenue
South; 1867; Polk and Bacon, Builders.
A frame house with wood lap siding and gable roof
of asphalt shingles, it is well- maintained with integrity. The house is of simple vernacular construction with some
Renaissance Revival Style influence as exhibited by the window head detailing.
Weston House (Snodgrass/Utroska
Property), 538-540 10th Avenue South; c. 1869.
A two and one-half story house,
it is of frame construction has mansard roofs. Alterations include; conversion to apartments, re-siding, porch reconstruction,
and entry stoop replacement. The house was built with fifteen rooms, colored marble in the vestibule, and handsome,
inlaid wooden floors. Although altered and therefore lacking integrity of design, the building still is a good local
example of the Second Empire Style. The scalloped roofing shingles, roof forms, and tower metalwork are of special significance.
The house was built for John Copeland Weston.
Messer House (Long/Teachout Property), 550 10th Avenue South;
Now converted to apartments, the house is two stories high with attic and gable roof. The front wraparound
porch is a later addition with the eave work probably altered at the same time. The brick walls and stone lintels over
the windows have been painted. An ornate chandelier from the house is now in the house located at 2314 North 2nd Street.
An early mansion in Clinton, this house design is of simple vernacular style with Federal style influence.
Henry Gerhart Property (Carstensen Storage Warehouse), 5160519 South 1st Street; c. 1855.
Originally a three-story
brick commercial building, it unfortunately has had additions of the fourth story and an expansion to the north. The
ground-floor storefront is of cast iron and glass. Although altered by the addition of another floor and expansion,
the building is significant with the retention of the cast iron ground-floor storefront and window pediments. This integrity
of the lower stories is rare. The building is an excellent example of early river front commercial architecture that was once
common-especially in St. Louis—and is now almost entirely demolished. The original building facade was an interpretation
of Renaissance Revival Style. (Eligible National Register of Historic Places)
Memorial Flag Pole,
Riverview Park—East end of 5th Avenue south at river Levee; 1930; Leonard Crunelle, Sculptor; Cast by A. M. Art
Bronze Foundry, Jules Berchem & Son, Chicago.
The Memorial Flag Pole has a sculptured
base of cast bronze human figures. The original flag pole of wood has been replaced with one of aluminum. Originally
located on axis with 5th Avenue South and in a formal setting, the flag pole was relocated and a new setting designed by VISTA
for the Corps of Engineers, together with construction required for the new levee. The flag pole base incorporates heroic
commemorating the Veterans of World War I. The new retaining walls and siting are a separate memorial
to Veterans of World War II, the Korean War, and the Viet Nam War.
Lighthouses, Riverview Park at River
Levee; c. 1935; Leo P. Hannager, Designer; WPA, Builder.
Three decorative towers,
with the appearance of lighthouses, stand on the levee and mark the edge of the Mississippi River. Each tower is octagonal
in plan. The masonry shaft of each tower tapers inward as it rises. Sheet metal roofing covers the small,
stylized domes which are over the "open" work of the platform atop the shaft. The lighthouses have been
symbols and identifying markers along the river in Riverview Park ever since their construction by the WPA.
Municipal Swimming Pool, Riverview Park; 1929; Walter E, Bort, Architect, of Clinton; Clinton Engineering Company,
When built, the pool cost $90,000 and was the largest swimming pool in the midwest at that time. The
bathouse is of Spanish Colonial Revival Style, with stucco-finished exterior walls. The window openings in the bathhouse
are, generally, fully arched.
Moeszinger-Marquis Hardware Company (C. E. Armstrong & Sons), 721 South
2nd Street; 1912; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of Clinton.
A massive three-story
brick warehouse, it was an addition to an original five-bay building adjacent on the north and now demolished. The original
building was built c. 1898. The existing building is a good local example of Romanesque Style. C. E.
Armstrong and Company, established in 1878 and wholesalers of hardware, plumbing, heating, and mill supplies, have occupied
the building since 1932. [Original section built 1891, addition 1892] (Listed National Register of Historic Places)
Jen's Tap and Kurtz Glass 706-710 South 2nd Street; 1969.
The upper story of each store is brick (the
north bay has been painted) with cast iron window "lintels" and tin cornice. Except for the altered ground
floors, the buildings are good local examples of Renaissance Revival buildings. This building, when combined together
with other buildings in the 700 block of south 2nd Street, Is part of a minor district of historic architecture.
RJS Electronics/Golden Horse Tavern/The Corner Tavern 700-704 South 2ndt street; 1869.
These three parcels
of storefronts comprise one brick building that is two stories high. The parapet has a pattern of corbeled brick.
The ground-floor storefronts have been altered. The Italianate Style building comprises part of a two-building street
façade of approximately 115 feet on the west side of the 700 block of South 2nd Street.
National Bank (Henry's/Reynold's Lounge),518-522 South 2nd Street; 1868.
A three-story commercial building, the structure
is of brick; however, 23 feet of façade on the corner is clad in stone. The ground-floor columns are of cast
iron. The upper-story windows have round-arched openings and many of the windows have been replaced or covered over.
Despite offensive ground-floor remodelings, the building is a handsome example of the Italianate Style. The corner store
was the second home of the Clinton National Bank, formed May 1, 1865. (Burned )
Casa Duran Restaurant 516 South 2nd Street; c. 1868.
A small commercial building of two stories, it has
brick walls with arched second Floor windows. A projecting cornice and intricate brickwork ornament the upper Story,
while the ground floor has been remodeled for the restaurant housed within. The building's upper story is a good example of
period architecture featuring adaptation of the Italianate Style. (Lost to fire)
Charles Koons' Building/Snow White Drug Store (Vogue), 512 South 2nd Street; c. 1919.
A small commercial building
of two stories in height, the walls of the structure are of Brick. The front façade utilizes white glazed face
brick punctuated with white terra cotta ornament. The wall is capped with a white terra cotta copng. The original
upper-story, double-hung wood windows have been replaced with fixed tinted sheet glass. The ground floor was altered
several years ago. The building is a good example of
"Sullivanesque Style". This so-called style
emphasizes the simplicity of building form with applied decorative accents based on original ornaments floral designs derived
by Louis Sullivan. Sullivan's influence is readily apparent in the building with the ornament usage. (Eligible
for the National Historic Register with further research and/or sympathetic restoration/rehabilitation)
Donlan-Redden Company (vacant/Old Montgomery Ward), 503-511 South 2nd Street; 1914; John Morrell & Son, Architects,
of Clinton; Daniel Haring, Builder.
This building is a two-story commercial building with skeletal framing clad over
with brick. The front façade is of face brick with decorative accents of terra cotta ornamentation. The
brick piers between the windows on the upper story have been painted and the windows have been clad over. The ground-floor
storefront has been altered. The building is a simple but handsome statement in the modern vein of the so-called Commercial
Style (based on the innovative "Chicago School of Architecture" of the late nineteenth century. (Eligible
for the National Historic Register with further research and/or sympathetic restoration/rehabilitation)
Howes Block (Kline's Department Store), 419-425 South 2nd Street; 1900; John Lake, Builder.
A large, four-story
commercial building, the exterior street facades of the building are of red face brick with decorative accents of red terra
cotta. The ground-floor storefront and the upper-story windows have been altered and modernized. This building
is of highly eclectic design with the major influence that of the Renaissance Revival Style, as evident in the use of engaged
pilasters with lonic capitals. (Listed National Register of Historic Places)
Pahl Building (Chris S. Martensen Building), 402-406 south 2nd Street; c. 1916; Gus Ladehoff, Builder (and also,
This building is two stories high with a street façade of white glazed terra cotta. Exuberant
ornamentation of white glazed terra otta provides decoraive accents to the upper façade. The ground floor has
been altered. The street façade is a significant architectural interest with the use of Sullivanesque terra cotta
ornamentation. This Louis Sullivan-inspired ornament if highlighted by the placement of the pieces in a neutral field
of plain white terra cotta. Although marred somewhat by alterations, the main façade still achieves a simple
grace of composition and subtle delight. (Eligible for the National Historic Register with further research and/or sympathetic
Roehl/Phillips Furniture, 308 South 2nd Street; rebuilt
1960; Phil Feddersen, Architect, of Clinton.
The front façade of face brick is relieved by two vertical strip
of louvers. Integrated into these strips are casement windows with copper roof projections and "balconies) of stucco
facing. The ground-floor store windows are recessed to form an arcade. The design by Clinton architect Phil Feddersen
can best be described as "Wrightian". Based upon compositional and design elements familiar to the work of
Frank Lloyd Wright,
Feddersen created a building of warmth, human scale, and aesthetic appeal. The integration
of the signage into the design is especially notable.
C&NW Railroad Freight Station
(Old C&NW Freight House/Bennett Box Pallet Company), 823 South 3rd Street; 1917; Haring Bros., Contractor.
as a freight house for the C&NW railroad, the building is now used as a warehouse. The front façade of the
two-story building has a grand, Romanesque arch which has been filled in with wood siding. The face brick of the front
facade has a beautiful range of reds and is lain in exquisite patterns. The building design, without a strong reliance
on historic styles, creates a strong image nevertheless, by the use of handsome brick and patterns.
First United Methodist Church, 621 South 3rd Street; 1902-1903; Sidney J. Osgood of Grand Rapids, Michigan, Architect;
John Lake & Son, Builder.
This brick church has a stone watertable and terra cotta string courses; the arch framing
is also of terra cotta. Atlerations include the removal of a "lantern" at the peak of the peak of the main
hip roof, closing of the arched clerestory window on the south, and new entry doors. The church building has an interesting
variety of massing and play of forms. Highly eclectic in design approach, the handling of the building design elements
most closely follows the Romanesque Style, although there is also some influence of the Second Renaissance Revival Style.
The first stone for the church was laid in August 1902; the cornerstone was laid October 5, 1902; and, the dedication was
held on September 13, 1903. (Potentially Eligible National Historic Register)
First National Bank, 405 South 3rd Street; 1975-76; Expression Inc. with Phil Feddersen, Associated Architects.
A modern bank building, it is built of concrete with glass and concrete block exterior surfaces. The concrete block
has a "corduroy" texture with the horizontal joints struck smooth to emphasize the textured surface of the block.
Much of the bank is raised over the drive-in facilities. A bank of recent and modern design, it is of statewide interest
with its progressive architecture and unique conceptual approach.
1st Baptist Church/Norwegian
& Danish church/Church of Jesus Christ Latter Day Saints (Church of Jesus Christ Latter Day Saints). 311 South 3rd Street;
A small, frame, one-story church, it has a new foundation of concrete blocks. The exterior siding and asphalt
roofing shingles are also new. The building was moved to this location in 1869 from 620 South 4th Street. Although
moved, altered, vacant and with new exterior finishes, the church still exhibits Gothic Revival Style features such as the
pointed arched windows. The building was the church for the 1st Baptist congregation from 1858 to 1874, it then became
the home of a succession of denominations, starting in 1874--and the Norwegian Lutherans alone after 1876. It became
the house of worship for the Church of Jesus Christ Latter Day Saints in 1905.
Bethel A. M. E. Church, 303 South 3rd Street; 1884
The building was erected on land deeded by the Iowa Land
Company. The building is a one-story brick church with basement. In the early 1900's, the church superstructure
was jacked up and a "new" foundation constructed of concrete block with simulated stone facing. The church
building is handsome with a simple grace and dignity of design. Although simplicity of construction suggests a label
of "vernacular", the round-arched windows may have been inspired by the Romanesque Style. The African M. E.
Church was organized in 1868 with the assistance of J. H. Young and other members of the First Methodist Church.
Henry Property (The Fun House), 814 South 4th Street; c. 1888.
The brick commercial building
has an ornate tin cornice and a reasonably intact ground-floor storefront of cast iron columns, sheet tin, and wood.
The second-floor windows at the front of the building have been rebuilt. The Italianate Style features, especially the
tin cornice, and the integrity of the storefront combine to provide architectural interest in the building. (demolished)
Nickel and Paddock Property (Thomas Burnett Property and Carroll Johnson Property), 800-804
South 4th Street.
The exterior walls of the building are of brick with a rich, red brick used as the predominant color,
in contrast to the buff-colored brick used to define pilasters and cornice line. All of the upper-story windows are
"eye-browed" with horizontal window lintels on the front façade and segmented arched windows on the other
street façade. A tin cornice caps the street facades and each storefront is also identified by a tin pediment
atop the cornice line. Early alterations include the addition of a second-floor bay window on the 7th Avenue South Street
(north) façade. Recent alterations include the metal awning on the north façade and the storefronts.
The building is an excellent example of the Italianate Style as applied to a commercial building. The upper-story is
especially noteworthy. Unfortunately, the ground-floor
alterations compromise the integrity of the historic architecture.
1st Baptist Church, 620 South 4th Street; 1870 and 1887; Josiah L. Rice,
Architect, of Clinton.
Originally built in 1870, the building was badly damaged by fire on July 27, 1887. The exterior
brick walls were left standing and were retained and incorporated into a four -months' long reconstruction of the building.
The shingled belfry was part of the reconstruction designed by Josiah L. Rice. A "recent" one-story addition
to the south has a shallow, pitched shed roof behind a wall of the front façade. Another more recent one-
story addition is attached on the north side of the building. The building is a handsome brick adaptation of the Romanesque
Revival Style that was especially popular for ecclesiastical architecture in this country from about 1855 to 1870. Including
the reconstruction, this building was the third church on this site. The first church was a small, frame building that
was moved c. 1869 to 311 South 3rd Street, and which is still standing. (Demolished)
Clinton High School/Roosevelt School (School District Offices-Board of Education), 600 South 4th Street;
1888-1889; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of Clinton.
A large, two and one-half story building, it has a stone foundation
and exterior walls of brick with stone sills, string courses, arches and trim. The major exterior changes of the building
include; installation of new and smaller windows with infill panels above the window head; boarding up the window openings
above the roof cornice line; and, the addition of a steel fire escape on the north wall. An installation of a sprinkler
system in 1959 allowed the interior of the building to remain much as originally built, including open stair-wells and wood
wainscot.The building is a massive structure of Romanesque Style design. It was built and served as the Clinton High
School until 1921. It later became Roosevelt Elementary School and is now used for the offices of the Board of Education,
Clinton community School District. (Eligible National Register of Historic Places)
Zion Evangelical/Evangelical United Brethren Church (Clinton Head Start Center), 300 South 4th Street; 1873.
church with gable roof and centrally located tower and entry. The building retains use of wood siding and wood details.
Exterior alterations are minimal with the major one being the removal of the steeple roof. The sentry steps are also
an addition. The church, eclectic in design, most closely follows Renaissance Revival Style. Originally a German
Evangelical church, Zion Evangelical became Evangelical United
Brethren in 1951 and, in 1968, merged with the United
Methodist congregation, which resulted in the building of a new church. The building now houses the Clinton Head Start
Mt. Pleasant Park/Mississippi Valley Spiritualist
Association; Mt. Pleasant Park (access from South Bluff Boulevard); 1882.
A large tract with many small cottages of
various styles, materials, and ages, the property if the home of the Mississippi Valley Spiritualist Association. The
site is a hilly and tree-studded landscape. Numerous small cottages line the narrow, quaint lanes that loop vaguely
through, up, and down the site. Mt. Pleasant Park is a district of distinct place and setting. The park was the
site for a Chautauqua that started 1883 and convened every season for many years.
A. Kelly House (B. C. Hass Apartments), 740 5th Avenue South; 1910; John Morrell & Son, Architects, of Clinton.
is a three-story brick house with a hip roof. Except for the porch railing and steps, the exterior appearance is much
the same as originally built; however, the interior has been altered with conversion to six apartment units. The house
is similar in composition to the H. W. Seaman House at 516 5th Avenue South, butt is of smaller scale and greatly simlified
in design approach. Symetry is retained; however, the wall surfaces are subdued, windows are grouped, and horizontal
lines are emphasized. The result is a more modern design based more upon Prairie School principles. Only the limited
use of lonic columns suggests an eclectic influence. (Eligible NationalRegister of Historic Places)
Sherman Seaman House/ W. H. Roehl House, 746 5th Avenue South; 1909.
A two-story stucco house with wood trim,
the building is irregular in plan. It has a hip roof of wide, over-hanging eaves with a flat soffit of wood, and a large,
full-width front porch. The building has many of the characteristics of the Prairie School Style. With simplicity
of form, stress on the repose of the horizontal line, and absence of traditional stylistic elements, the house exhibits the
design approach of the Frank Lloyd Wright-led Prairie School movement. The front porch, use of double-hung windows,
and small chimney (although centrally located) are concessions to traditional construction. (Eligible National Register
of Historic Places)
T. J. Hudson House, 823 5th Avenue South; 1914; John Morrell &
Son, Architects, of Clinton.
A two-story stucco house with hip roof. It has a full-width front porch and also a side
entry porch. The house exhibits many of the principles of the Midwest-originated Prairie School Style. The house
has horizontal lines and grouping of windows with some panelization of the wall. The treatment stresses the wall as
a screening element rather than as a traditional, massive, load-bearing wall. The porch column is, proportion, and shape
were probably inspired by the designs of George Maher, a Chicago Prairie School architect. (Eligible National Register
of Historic Places)
Fred Van Allen House (Halsrud Apartments), 844 5th Avenue South;
1911; John Morrell & Son, Architects, of Clinton.
A large, three-story house, it has exterior materials of stucco,
wood trim, and tile-clad hip roof. The house has been converted in six apartment units; however, the exterior is much
the same as originally built, except for the addition of aluminum storm windows. The handsome house has suggestions
of the Renaissance Revival Style with the use of symmetry and compositional massing; however, the architectural features,
materials, and detailing are simplified in the modern approach of the Prairie School Style. (Eligible National
Register of Historc Places)
A. Walsh House, 915 5th Avenue South; 1893-1897; g. L.
LeVeille, Builder (first contractor).
A large, two and one-half story house, it now has been converted to multi-family
use. The house design epitomizes the exuberance of the Queen Anne Style with a variety of materials, texture, and massing.
The house construction was started by contractor G. L. LeVeille for his own home. LeVeille was the contractor of the
County Court House, and used the same kind of stone for both the court house and his own home. However, LeVeille had
difficulties with the construction of the court house, and he abandoned that project along with his own house; it was said
that he fled to Canada. The unfinished house was sold later to A. Walsh. (Eligible National Register of Historic
Washington Junior High School (Washington Middle School), 751 2nd Avenue South;
1933-1935; Karl Keffer & Earl E. Jones, Architects, of Des Moines with A. H. Morrell, Associate Architect; Ringland-Johnson
A large, two-story school, the building exterior is of brick with stone trim and accent panels.
Additions to the rear (south) were done in 1952 and in 1972. For Iowa, the building is an excellent example of the so-called
"Modernistic" or Art Deco Style. The entry treatment is of special interest with its play in relief of geometric
Mullet House, 726 9th Avenue South; c. 1870.
The two-story brick
house has a simple gable roof and bay window on the west at the ground floor. Now converted to a three-apartment building,
the structure's exterior revisions include the porch and eave treatment. The house is a simple but handsome vernacular
style with some traces of influence from the Greek Revival Style in massing and from the Italianate Style with the use of
segmented arched windows.
John Deolin House (Farwell Realty Property), 715 10th
Avenue South; 1914.
The house is a builder's interpretation of the Prairie School Style. Prairie School influences
include the use of stucco, and a horizontal emphasis by use of wood stripping and hip roof. Use of double-hung windows,
the front porch, and chimney locations to the side deviated from the usual Prairie School practice.
George C. Smith House, 636 11th Avenue South; 1873.
This brick house, now converted to apartments,
is two stories high and has a tower. Alterations include removal of the original shutters, removal of the front porch,
and construction of an entry stoop. An original iron fence atop the stone retaining wall also has been removed.
Although deterioration and alterations have changed the appearance of the old mansion, it still remains an excellent local
example of the Italian Villa Style. (Demolished)
Walter E. Bort's Stone Tower Studio,
722-732 South 12th Street; c. 1923 through 1953; Walter Bort, Architect, of Clinton.
The complex occupies
about one-half acre in a built-up residential area not very far from downtown. The grounds are beautiful and lushly
landscaped. The studio/residence was started about 1923 and incorporated an old brick farmhouse, of unknown date, that
on the property. The farmhouse has been engulfed by expansion wings built of stone at various dates.
The stone used throughout is native limestone laid in coursed rubble pattern with quarry face. The complex was expanded
over the years to include scattered apartments. The buildings are all of unified design and recede into the landscape.
Of natural materials and colors, the complex is in harmony with nature and the enviroment. The complex, like a small
village in appearance, seem romantically and eclectically inspired by English countryside villages.
George T. Smith House, 700 South Bluff Boulevard; c, 1914- 1917.
A one and one-half
story wood bungalow on a wooded site, the building has gable roofs with a hipped-roof front porch. There are soffit
brackets at the gable ends of the roof and exposed soffit roof joists at the eave. The wood siding of the house is dark
brown with contrasting white trim. A good example of the Bungalow Style, it puts emphasis on the "stick" character
of wood construction and harmony with nature.
Agatha Hospital ("Old" Jane
Lamb Hospital), 638 South Bluff Boulevard; 1923; Schmidt, Garden & Martin, Architects, of Chicago; Haring Bros.,
This hospital building, built in 1923, prompted the change in name from Agatha Hospital to Jane Lamb Memorial
Hospital. This building was designed by Chicago architects, Richard E. Schmitt, Garden and Martin; construction was
by Haring Brothers of Clinton, Iowa. In 1928, the building was lenthened by an addition along South Bluff Boulevard
with construction by Jorgensen Construction to a design by A. H. Morrell,
Architect, of Clinton. The building
desing is eclectic with Tudor Gothic Style as the major source of influence.
John New/ C.
Aikin House, 325 South Bluff Boulevard; c. 1837.
A one-story house with basement, the structure if os local limestone.
The roof is hipped and one wing has a gable roof. Roofing is now of asphalt shingles instead of original wood shakes.
Other alterations include the Frame construction of a room as infill of an original porch. At the rear of the building
is a one-story gabled roofed frame addition. The entry to the house has had trelliswork constructed above the door.
Shutters have been removed and the windows replaced. The house if the oldest known structure in Clinton still standing.
The house was a station on the underground railroad before the Civil War.
Dr. J. B Charlton House/George
W. Dulay House/C. A. Armstrong House, 1100 Woodlawn; 1910; John Morrell & Son, Architects, of Clinton.
bungalow of dark brown wood siding with white trim, it has a hip roof and a gable-roofed porch. The porch, once open,
has been enclosed with window walls between the original, wood Doric columns. The house is a good example of the Bungalow
Style with a porch inspired by the Classical Style.
Eugene J. Curtis House, Hillcrest Street;
1921; Trowbridge & Ackerman, Architects, of Boston, Massachusetts; Haring Bros., Contractors.
"country" house has a steeply pitched hip roof with dormers. The first- Floor exterior walls are of brick
and the upper story is covered with shingles of muted colors. Casement windows and large, bow windows are used in the
exterior walls. The house is of highly eclectic design with influences from Georgian, American Shingle, and Tudor
Gothic Styles. Whatever the inspiration and derivation of styles, the
building design is handsome with play of
pattern and color, yet, at the same, it projects a sense of repose and dignity. Designed by a prominent architectural
firm, the house was one of two similar designs on adjacent sites for the two Curtis brothers. The home of G. L.
Curtis, however, was destroyed by fire in 1967 and only this house, originally built for Eugene J. Curtis, survives.
Curtis Stables/Harold Kirck House, 5 Heather Lane; 1921 and 1969.
Built in 1921 as a stable for the Curtis families, the building was converted to a house in 1968. "L-shape"
in plan, the house has two wings which radiate from a centralized form, octagonal in plan and with a steeply pitched roof
capped wit a cupola. The house is a good example of adaptive use. Although altered and modernized the building
retains the aura or atmosphere of the "gracious country living" that the Curtis
74. Brice Oakley Home, 1 Heather Lane; 1970; Al Mugasis of Prout, Mugasis and Johnson, Architects,
of Clinton; Vald Kristensen & Sons, Builder.
This is a long, low, one-story building with clerestory and shed roofs.
The exterior materials are wood siding and wood shingle roofing. The house is of modern design and has an interesting
combination of roof forms and massing.
Riverview Stadium, 6th Avenue North and Riverview
Park; 1936-1937; A. H. Morrell, Architect, of Clinton; WPA, Builder with Fred N. Grumstrup, Superintendent of Construction.
The exterior of the stadium is attractively designed with a pattern and play of forms in brick and stucco. The design
style is "Moderne" or Art Deco. The baseball stadium is a good example of this style applied to an un-common
type of structure. The stadium the home of the Clinton Dodgers, a farm team affiliated with the Los Angeles Dodgers.
Omar (Rhododendron Show Boat), Riverview Park-River Levee; 1936.
The Omar was
a coal-fired towboat that operated on the Ohio River. The West Virginia Centennial Commission purchased the boat and
renovated it. A 250-seat theater was ceated and a third level added. After purchase by the Clinton Park Commissioners,
it operated out of Clinton until 1975. It was placed on the levee berm in June of 1977. It is to be renovated
again and is scheduled to return to operartion in May, 1980. Work in progress or to be includes; re-siding, painting,
paddlewheel re-construction, electrical service and sewage system installation.
Patrick's Catholic Church, 240 4th Avenue North; 1905.
The church is constructed of Gladbrook red pressed brick for
the exterior walls with Portage Entry red sand-stone trim and watertable. The foundation is of sawed Bedford stone and
the original roofing was Black Bangor slate. This large church serves as a landmark for the near north side neighborhood.
Eclectic is design, the church exhibits forms, motifs, and derivations from Italian Romanesque and Gothic Styles.
St. Patrick's Rectory, 238 4th Avenue North; 1905; built at the same time
and of the same materials as the adjacent church to the west, the rectory utilizes red face brick with red sandstone trim
and Bedford stone for the foundation. The rectory is of Romanesque Style with an Italian influence in detailing, although
it is not as exuberant in design as the church structure. (demilished)
79 & 80.
Clinton County Court House, 612 North 2nd Street; 1892-1897; G. Stanley Mansfield, Architect, of Freeport, Illinois and
Josiah L. Rice, Supervising Architect, of Clinton.
The County Court House if a landmark building of three stories with
a central tower. The exterior walls are of red sandstone and granite and the tower is of copper cladding which has weathered
to a bright green color. The exterior appearance is much the same as originally built; however, the interior has undergone
almost continuous change, including the addition of an elevator in the center of the building. The building replaced
the first court house of frame construction that stood on Block 8. That building was designed by Architect W. W. Sandborn
and was built in 1869 by L. P. Haradon in just 23 days after the county seat was moved to Clinton from DeWitt. In March
of 1892, the voters of the County approved construction of a new court house to a budget of $100,000. A design by G.
Stanley Mansfield, Architect, of Freeport, Illinois was selected.
G. L. LeVeille of Omaha, Nebraska was awarded the construction
contract and construction began in 1892. However, because of the swampy nature of the site, the foundations were inadequate
and construction was halted. After another election was held, which resulted in disapproval of an additional $35,000
to carry the foundations down another five feet, LeVeille was discharged and later sued for damages by the County Board of
Supervisors. J. L. Rice of Clinton was then appointed Supervising Architect in 1893. The court house stood unfinished
for some time with just the stonework in place. Finally, in June 1896, additional funds were approved and the court
house was finished at a total of $168,000. It was dedicated in August of 1897. Many subcontractors were responsible
for completion of the building. Among these were" W. G. Andrews who decorated the interior in Empire and Rococo
Styles; George W. Parke of Lyons who had the copper work and slate roofing contracts for the building; and, John F. Schmidt
who had the contract for the interior wood finishes. The design of the exterior of the building is most likely the work
of Mansfield; however, the tower of copper was different from Mansfield's original drawings and was probably a change designed
by J. L. Rice. The structure, despite problems during construction and changes in design, is an imposing, rugged, and
handsome building of Romanesque Style. It is an excellent example of its style, period and building type.
(Listed National Historic Register)
Clinton County and City Law Enforcement Center, 241 7th Avenue North;
1970; Durrant, Deininger, Dommer, Kramer, Gordon, Architects of Dubuque, Iowa; V & E Construction Company of Galena, Illinois.A
two-story reinforced concrete building of 19,574 square feet, it houses the city police on the south side of the first floor
while the sheriff occupies the other half of the floor. This level has an earth berm against much of the perimeter wall
with a continuous horizontal window above. The jail is on the upper floor. It is cantilevered with beams at the
exterior and has small, vertical slot windows in the precast concrete wall. The building, of contemporary design and
"Wrightian" is expression, won an
architectural design award when built in 1970. The building replaced
a jail structure built in 1883 on the site and is the fourth county jail in the history of Clinton County.
Schall's Candy Company (Hagge Building/Valley Pattern Broadcasting-KLNT/KLNQ), 501 North 2nd Street; 1917; Haring
A large, two and one-half story building, it was built as the office and factory for the Shall''
Candy Company. It now houses the broadcasting studios and offices for the Pattern Broadcasting Company (Radio Station
KLNT and KLNQ). The brick exterior walls are enlivened by the application of terra cotta medallions, projecting string
courses, and general ornamentation. Although the clutter of signs and the window alterations are disturbing, the building
still retains the important Sullivanesque appearance as originally built. Inspired by the ornamentation designed by
Louis Sullivan (who was the architect for the Van Allen Building at 5th Avenue South and South 2nd Street), the terra cotta
work on the building is exuberant and delightful-especially the large motif above the main entrance. The building is
a good example of a creative and highly American design period in architecture.
School, 10th avenue North at North 3rd Street; 1898.
The brick building is a good example of the simplified and more
modern approach to school design that was evolving at that time from the direction indicated by the Romanesque Style.
Iten Biscuit Company (W. Atlee Burpee Company of Philadelphia), 615-619
North 2nd Street; 1905.
A large, three-story industrial/warehouse and office building, it has exterior walls of brick.
The brick is a light buff color and was manufactured by the Iowa Granite Brick Company of Clinton. The building was
built in stages. The first stage was a two-bay-wide frontage on North 2nd Street and was only two stories high.
A five-bay, three-story expansion followed. Subsequently, a third story was added on the north portion and, later, an
addition to the south was constructed to finish the complex into a united whole. A tin cornice helps unify the building
with a strong horizontal emphasis. The building is a good example of commercial/industrial vernacular of the period
with a minimun of historic emphasis; however, the entry arch is a dominant feature and suggests Romanesque Style influence.
The building was built for L. Iten & Son's "Snow White Bakery"-later the Iten Biscuit Company. In 1928,
the National Biscuit Company bought Iten. In 1941, W. Atlee Burpee (Seed) Company bought the building and, in 1943,
started operations in Clinton. (Eligible National Historic Register)
Clare Jr. College/Sisters of St. Francis (Mt. St. Clare Jr. College), 400 North Bluff Boulevard; 1910-1911; J. B. McGorrick,
Architect, of Des Moines; Lightner Bros., Builder.
The main building was opened in September of 1911 as a girl's school
and home for the Sisters of the Order of St. Francis. Mt. St. Clare was originally located in Clinton at the "Judge
Chase Home", 262 North Bluff Boulevard, in 1893. In 1899, the estate, "Evergreen", of Dr. J. S. Corbin
at 400 North Bluff Boulevard, became the site for the girls' school and the college was formed in 1928. The main building
of 1911 is a
prominent landmark atop the ridge immediately west of Bluff Boulevard. The building design is eclectic
in derivation, but the sitting, overall massing, and especially the warm reds of brick walls and tile roofs, suggests an Italian
monastery or hill town. The building was the nucleus structure for the Mt. St. Clare Jr. College. The building,
except for aluminum replacements windows and main entry relocated to orient to the vehicular drive on the west, appears much
the same as originally built. The top floor was used as a convent until a new one was built on the campus. The
campus has changed in appearance with the construction of many new buildings in the late 1950's and early 1960's.
Dorothea A. McGauvran House, 405 Oakhurst Drive; 1963; Phil Feddersen, Architect, of Clinton.
The building is a one-story rambling house of brick and wood. It is of modern design,
inspired by the later "Usonian" designs of Frank Lloyd Wright. Emphasis is on horizontal lines to suggest
repose and the use of natural materials to harmonize with nature.
House, 453 Woodlands Drive; c. 1887 (re-located 1902).
A 26-room mansion of frame construction, it was moved in 1902
by Crowe Brothers of Chicago, building moving contactors, from a site at 6th Avenue South and South 5th Street to the present
site atop an eight-foot-hill. It took three months to move the house eleven blocks and up the hill. The house
was altered at that time, resulting in an eclectic design. The Queen Anne Style was the major influence in guiding the
massing and overall composition, while many details and ornamental features are of Second Renaissance Revival Style derivation.
Robert E. Evans House, 551 Woodlands Drive; 1974-1976; William Nowysc, Architect,
of Iowa City, Iowa; Fuller Brothers Construction, Contractors.The house consists of two wings with a "lantern" that
marks their intersection. Retaining walls of treated wood contain a pool deck that nestles between the embracing "arms"
of the house. The house is a good local example of contemporary architectural design. Of natural wood and stone
materials and concern for the site, the house fittingly adapts to its environment. At the same time, and consistent
with the most recent fashion in architectural design, the composition is not static. The diagonal line is important
in the composition and is expressed by shed roofs, diagonal wood siding, and angled wings in plan, as well as by the slope
of the site.
Marvin J. Gates House (Oakhurst Apartments; Oakhurst East), 500 Oakhurst
A large mansion, it had cinder stucco exterior wall finish and red tile roofs. Converted to eleven
dwelling units in 1865 by the Clinton Investment Corporation, the building has been altered. Asphalt shingle roofing,
re-built soffits that eliminated the original brackets, and white painted stucco are among the changes. A detached caretaker's
house is located across Oakhurst Drive to the west. The building design is of Spanish Colonial revival Style.
This mansion inspired construction of other buildings of similar style in Clinton. The stylized gables of the Gates
House can be seen in silhouette on other structures about town.
Russell B. McCoy/D.
D. Collis House (Breezy Point Manor), 520 Breezy Point Drive; 1903.
The house is an excellent adaptation of Tudor
Gothic Style. The rambling mansion was the focus of Russell B. McCoy's 100 acre estate. Although the mansion
has been converted into five apartments/condominiums and the grounds have been dotted with new multi-family buildings,
the residence and immediate grounds are still handsome.
Russell B. McCoy Stable House
(Breezy Point), 520 Oakhurst at Breezy Point; 1903.
Originally the stable house of the Russell B. McCoy estate, the
large building was converted to apartment use in the late 1930's to a design by Walter E. Bort, Clinton architect. The
exterior appears much as originally built, however, with brick walls, massive chimneys, and dark stain for wood siding on
the dormers, trim, and porches.
Stumbaugh & McPherson Warehouse/M. A. Disbrow
Warehouse (Dale Bott Trucking, Inc. Warehouse), 2115 Grant Street; c. 1845.
Located on the riverfront, the building
is of native limestone laid in uncoursed rubble pattern. The openings in the walls are framed with lintels of
wood timbers. Alterations include bricking-up of a window in the gable of the west wall and a frame addition with
a variety of sidings on the south. The structure is an excellent and now rare example of an early warehouse of
native stone and vernacular construction still standing in Clinton. (Eligible National Register)
Philip Deeds Property/David Joyce Property, 2202 McKinley Street; c. 1860.
brick house with basement, it has a gable roof with a chimney at each end gable. A full-width front porch has been replaced
with a small entry porch. With symmetry and simplicity of composition, the design of the house appears to have been
influenced by the American Federal Style as well as Germanic-influenced vernacular construction (examples of which are in
other river cities such as St. Louis).
George Leedham/Sarah Boardman House (Douglas
Bennett Rental Property), 2119 Garfield Street; 1888; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of Clinton.
The frame house is an excellent
Clinton example of the Eastlake Style. Only the awnings on the front façade detract from the historic integrity
exhibited in the house. The house has a decorative wood porch, barge boards, and gable treatment consistent with the
style. The front porch is especially distinctive as it is festooned with curved brackets, spindles, circular perforations,
and other wood ornamental features. The upper-story porch on the south side is also noteworthy. (Eligible
National Register of Historic Places)
Michael Williams House, 2208 Garfield Street;
c. 1898; Josiah L. Rice, Architect, of Clinton.
This is a large, two and one-half story frame house with a basement and
stone foundation walls. The roof gables have pent roofs and scallop shingle siding with wood trim. The windows
in the front gable are new. Highly eclectic in derivation, the design by Josiah Rice has influences of the "Stick"
and Queen Anne Styles.
Willis L. Parker House/Thomas Leedham House, 2209 Garfield
Street; 1959; J. Kingsten, Architect; John Sanford, Builder.
This two-story house is built with two kinds of brick-red
brick for the walls and buff brick for the corner quoins, window arches, and trim. The gable roof has paired soffit
brackets. In the 1940's, the house was converted to two apartments, and, in 1968, the attic was converted to a third
apartment. The roofing was replaced in 1975 and a wood shingle found bearing the names of the architect and builder.
The house is an excellent example to create a handsome building that attracts and delights.
George Conley House, 2211 Garfield Street; 1869;
A two-story frame house, it has wood window caps, roof brackets, and
hip roof. A wraparound porch is an addition, the house is of simplified Renaissance Revival Style. (Eligible National
Register of Historic Places)
James Hazlett House, 2216 Garfield Street; 1860.
architectural characteristics include; pairs of brackets at the roof soffits, segmented arched windows, corner pilasters of
brick, and projecting window sills with brackets. The full-width front porch and columns with composite capitals are
additions. A stable with roof cupola, is at the rear of the property. Built for a lawyer and merchant, this is
a handsome Italianate Style house. Its design and mint condition make this 1860 house a good example of historic architecture.
(Eligible National Registry of Historic Places}
Robert Rand House, 2219 Garfield Street;
The house is of simple vernacular style with some evidence of style influence of the Italianate and the earlier
Federal Styles. Built for a banker, the house has a good sense of human scale and warmth. This is achieved by
use of simple forms, and the color and texture of the old brick. (Eligible National Register of Historic Places)
Dennis Warren House, 2224 Garfield Street; 1874-1875.
This house has two storied.
Stucco over stone foundation, brick walls, gable roof, and segmented arch windows. Alterations appear to include rebuilt
eaves and porch replacement with a smaller one. The house design, of Italianate Style influence, works well with other
structures in the vicinity and results in a unified district environment. (Eligible National Register of Historic Places)
James H. Barum/Caleb B. McDowell House, 2113 Roosevelt Street; c. 1865; J. H. Barnum,
The building is a good example of an early brick vernacular house modified and enhanced with later Queen Anne
Style additions. J. H. Barnum, an owner of a lumber yard in Lyons, who was also a builder and a developer, built this
house for his own home. The additions were probably done later, when Jacob Peters owned the house. These were;
an addition on the south and a porch (c. 1895) and the picture window bay.
Nacre House, 2228 Roosevelt Street; 1926.
This is a bungalow with brick veneer and wood shingle wall surfaces.
The gable roofs have wide overhangs with exposed rafters and brackets reminiscent of "Stick" Style. The house,
with natural materials ands "stick" expression, is a good Clinton example of the Bungaloid Style. Bungaloid
design, with its emphasis on craftsmanship and harmony with nature, was an original American style based upon few antecedents.
Grace Episcopal Church, 2100 North 2nd Street; 1856.
The church has a corner tower
and gable roof (now with asphalt shingles). The exterior bearing walls are of local quarry-faced limestone with dressed stone
for the quoins at the corners. The exterior side walls have pointed arched windows and engaged buttresses. The
stone nave was originally four bays with stone to match existing. At the same time, a choir room was added to the north.
In 1904, the interior ceiling was removed and open timber construction exposed. The church is an excellent example of
Gothic Revival Style and was intended to be patterned after St. Martin's at Canterbury, England. (Eligible National
Register of Historic Places )
Lyons United Methodist church, 2118
North 2nd Street; 1983.
The church building, of brick with stone trim, is an example of Romanesque Style design.
The front façade was the result of an 1893 reconstruction after a fire on October 23, 1892 destroyed the original church;
the side walls appear to be partial retentions of the 1856
building. Recent alterations include; the removal of
Romanesque arched window in the upper gable and the opening infilled with brick and glass block in the shape of a cross; and,
lowering the bell tower and the bell placed in the yard.
W. W. Sanborn House, 2203
North 2nd Street; 1869; W. W. Sanborn, Architect, of Clinton.
The first residence of W. W. Sanborn in Lyons, it
is a small, one and one-half story frame cottage. It has stone foundation walls and gable roof with barge boards;
the walls have been re-sided. The cottage is a good Clinton example of Gothic Revival Style. (Demolished)
Polly D. Ball House//David Batchelder House (Camelot Restaurant), 2204 North 2nd Street; 1866.
the house is an excellent example of Italianate Style. David Batchelder, a lumber baron, bought the house in 1881 for
$9000. Of brick construction, the house has arched windows with caps, a cornice, and a porch with iron railing.
There is an ornate iron fence in the yard. The house was expanded, c. 1881, by and addition of a family kitchen with
servants'ntrally located cupola and dome, is an exceptional example of pre-Civil War institutional building. Highly
eclectic in design, this building combines features of the Gothic Revival and Italianate Styles. The southern-most building
of brick is a combination of Romanesque and Queen Anne stylistic features. The original building is 3 ½ stories
high and has a roof cupola topped with a bulbous-style dome. This brick building was expanded with matching additions
extending to the north, south, and west. Tthe gable treatment, with scalloped wood shingles, and overall massing suggests
a Queen Anne Style influence. Finally, the Eastlake Style is suggested by the porch treatment of lathe-turned dowels
Lyons Female College/Our Lady of Angels Seminary (North Side Church
of God), 407 22nd Avenue North; 1858.
With spacious grounds and beautiful siting, the complex is an excellent example
of early academic architecture in Iowa. The original building, with its brick massing and unique, centrally located
cupola and dome, is an exceptional example of pre-Civil War institutional building. Highly eclectic in design, this
building combines features of the Gothic Revival and Italianate Styles. The southern-most building of brick is a combination
of Romanesque and Queen Anne stylistic features. The original building is 3 ½ stories high and has a roof cupola
topped with a bulbous-style dome. This brick building was expanded with matching additions extending to the north, south,
and west. The original porch on the east was replaced by a new one. The original wood of the pediments. Cupola,
and eaves of the gable roof have been clad over with aluminum siding and trim. The original pointed arched windows on
the cupola have been altered. The 2 ½ story brick building on the south replaced an earlier two-story Gothic
Revival Style building. The boiler plant and secondary building are to the rear (west) of the original building.
In August 1979, an educational building was under construction close by and to the north of the original building. It
was reported that the interiors of the original building are being gutted and demolished piecemeal by the congregation members.
This is apparently being done in advance of total clearance of the site for a new church. The complex, of architectural
and historical significance, dates to 1858. The large "original" building, flanked by two smaller ones, comprised
the campus of the Lyons Female College, a Presbyterian school dedicated and opened in September 15, 1858; it was the first
institution of higher learning in Clinton County. The school was sold in September 1872 to the Sisters of Charity, a
Catholic order in Clinton headed by Sister Mary Anastasia. Out Lady of Angels Academy, a boarding school, was dedicated
on October 2, 1872. In 1966, the school was closed and the premises were vacated. The North Side Church of God
purchased the property in 1973 and have indicated that the existing buildings are not suitable for their needs. Unfortunately,
this important architectural grouping may not remain much longer. (Demolished)
Philip Roe House, 1604 North 3rd Street; c. 1874.
This is a two-story frame house with a low-pitched gable roof and
a wraparound front porch. The house was probably moved to this location about 1874 and the porch added at that time.
The house itself was probably built earlier (c. 1860). The house, meticulously maintained, is a good example of vernacular
William Joyce House/Beatrice C. Joyce, 181 North 3rd Street; 1887.
A large house of frame construction with stone foundation, it has a variety of roof forms, dormers, and turrets. An
engaged round tower with conical rood anchors the northeast corner of the house. Rounded glass follows the curvature
of this tower wall. The wall surfaces are characterized by wood board inlays, like string courses, that give a subtle
horizontal counterplay to the vertical emphasis of the major architectural forms. Ornate dormers on the tower roof and
a second-story porch have been removed. A porch, c. 1914, replaced the original.
The structure is an excellent
example of a frame construction mansion of the 1880's period. Originally of Eastlake Style because of the proliferation
of wood ornament as a product of the chisel, gouge and lathe, the stripping of these decorative features has quieted and simplified
the exterior. Now the building design more closely resembles Queen Anne Style. These alterations have not diminished
the architectural significance of the house. Atop a beautifully landscaped knoll, the house is a handsome and imposing
structure, representative of a period of lavish lifestyle and accompanying appropriate architecture. William
Joyce, one of the early lumber barons of Clinton had the house built. It
remained in the Joyce family until 1974.
William Joyce was the son of David Joyce, who founded the Joyce Lumber Company in 1869. The Joyces also owned what is now
Eagle Point Park and the Clinton Street Railway. It is now the home of Dwain Walters, Mayor of Clinton. (Eligable
National Register of Historic Places)
Judge Aylett R. Cotton House, 316 18th Avenue
Except for the roof, the house is a good example of Gothic Revival Style. The design is sometimes
called Steamboat Gothic because of the exuberance exhibited with wood ornamentation, pointed arched windows, and emphasis
on verticality. The gable roof of the house, originally very steeply pitched, was rebuilt with a gambrel roof after
a 1943 attic fire. The exterior wall of the house, however, appear much the same as originally built, with vertical
board and batten wood siding. The windows also remain with pointed arches and wood tracery. A ballroom wing was
added by Judge Cotton, thereby completing the composition as a twelve-room house.
Holmes House/Art Holmes House, 1510 North 4th Street; c. 1873.
A two-story frame house, it has gable roofs and a tower
(addition), with a mansard roof of convex slope. The tower has roof brackets, a rosette window, and an entry door as
a later revision. Many of the window openings have wooden "arched" window heads. The house combines
an Italianate Style influence on the vernacular frame construction of the house proper with a tower of Second Empire Style.
William Lyall House, 516 22nd Avenue North; 1854.
A two-story brick house with hip
roof, it has a one-story, gable-roofed or brick wing and porch added on the east. An attached summer kitchen to the
rear has been removed and the front porch screened in. The entry way is a revision. The house is an early,
simplified example of Italianate Style.
M. A. Disbrow & Company Office (Knight
of Columbus), 2301 McKinley Street; 1878.
A two-story, brick veneer building, it has engaged pilasters and segmented
arched window openings. Alterations include a wood vestibule on the front façade, glass block substituted for
some windows, and rebuilding of the chimneys. An example of brick commercial vernacular construction, the building,
built in 1878, was the office for the M. A. Disbrow Company. Disbrow & Company, manufacturers of sash, windows,
and trim, was established in 1856 in Lyons. William Disbrow donated the office building to the Lyons' Ex-Servicemen's
Post No, 1 and they sold it to the Knights of Columbus in 1968.
Lyons High School
(Nee-Hi Hall), 96 Main Avenue; 1905.
A two and on-half story school building with attic, the structure's exterior is
of brick and stone. Of eclectic design, the building is derived from Second Renaissance and Georgian Revival Styles.
The building served as the Lyons High School. In 1951 it became Baldwin School and was used until 1971 when a new school
was built elsewhere. The building now is a club house. (Eligible National Register of Historic Places)
Iowa State Savings Bank, 122 Main Avenue; 1914; Harry R. Harbeck, Architect, From Illinois.
This two-story bank building is of brick with terra cotta ornamentation and cut stone water table. In 1931, an expansion
of the bank was undertaken with a one and one-half story, addition of similar design added to the rear. A rear entrance
in the original building was relocated to the addition. In 1967, a major expansion and remodeling program was implemented.
A one and one-half story brick addition, with arches for the main entrance, was constructed adjacent on the east. The
entrance in the original building was removed and the opening was patched to match existing materials. The ground-floor
windows were replaced with sheet glass in bronze-colored frames. A projecting, revolving sign was added to the original
building at the corner. The design of the building was strongly influenced by the work of Louis Sullivan, an early exponent
of modern architecture. Sullivan had a highly personalized design philosophy and style. He utilized ornamentation
derived creatively from floral motifs and fluid lines to decorate his buildings. Sullivan was imitated successfully
and creatively in this bank design by Harry Harbeck, an architect who lived in the Chicago area. The building design
and ornamentation is an exceptional example of the so-called Sullivanesque Style. This important building was built
at approximately the same time as Louis Sullivan's Van Allen Building (which is listed on the National Register) in downtown
Clinton. The Iowa State Savings Bank was founded in 1905 and was located from 1907 to 1914 in what is now the Masonic
Temple on Main Avenue. (Eligible National Register of Historic Places)
Buell Block, 200
Main Avenue; 1890-1891. This is a large, two-story commercial building of brick with ornate tin cornice. The ground
floor store-front has been modernized. Upper-story windows have been replaced and panels installed above the window
heads. The building is a good example of an 1890's commercial building with an interpretation of Italianate Style.
Hazlett & Durlin Coal and Wood Dealers (McEleney Motors Storage), 2410 Harding;
Built on the riverfront, the warehouse is a good example of brick vernacular construction. The corbeled
brickwork at the eave suggests an influence of Romanesque Revival Style. The segmented arched window openings have been
close with sheet plywood and the stone foundation has been covered with stucco above the grade. (Demolished)
Nora Albright House, 2521 McKinley Street; c. 1855.
A rare Clinton example of early
Greek Revival Style, the cottage, despite inappropriate siding and alterations, retains many of the Greek Revival characteristics.
The small, frame cottage was probably moved to this site. The building has a low-pitched gable roof with eave returns
and symmetry of the Greek Revival Style.
Christian Moeszinger House, 2424 Garfield
Street; c. 1855.
A house of frame construction, it has a gable roof with eave returns and a central front porch.
A balcony railing on the porch roof has been removed and additions to the rear have extended the house westward. The
building, re-sided with imitation brick asphalt siding, is of Greek Revival Style inspiration and was considered a fancy house
for its period. It was the home of a prominent industrialist, Christian Moeszinger, and his family. Moeszinger,
who came to Lyons in 1855, owned a foundry. (Demolished)
Henry Krough Property
(Campbell & Jacobsen Property), 109 25th Avenue North; c. 1860.
Two storied high with basement and attic, the brick
building has a gable roof with asphalt shingles. Stucco has been used to cover the basement walls and for patching the
brickwork. Built as a market hall, the building is an example of brick vernacular design and construction.
H. E. Gates House/Ezra Baldwin House, 2714 Roosevelt Street; 1865.
A small brick
house, it has a hip roof with soffit brackets. The rear, two-room addition and porch were added c. 1880. The entry
door has been rebuilt and widened, and the original entry porch removed. The house is a simplified Renaissance Revival
Style. It was the home of Ezra Baldwin, a hardware dealer, who lived there until his death in 1871. A son later
lived there and Baldwin School was named after him.
122. Pennsylvania House/Washington House,
2425-2433 North 2nd Street/ 121-123 25th Avenue North; c. 1855.
Sited on a corner lot tight to the streets, the
building is an example of vernacular design and brick construction, as well as an illustration of early building type-a hotel
and tavern. The exterior brick walls have been covered over with stucco in recent years. Aluminum storm windows
and gabled entry canopies are also later revisions. A large loft opening, with timber lintel, in the south end gable
has been closed with brick and a small pair of windows created. The building housed a succession of hotels and boarding
houses, including Nic Conrad's Pennsylvania House and, after 1874, the D. Brown Boarding House. Later, it was the Washington
Boarding House. It also was used as an office building (Fidelity Life) and is an apartment building with 13 units.
William Leedham House, 2502 North 2nd Street; 1854.
A one and one-half story house
of frame construction, it has been expanded with additions to the rear and south (all in the nineteenth century). The
house is a good example of early frame vernacular construction. (Demolished)
Gardiner House, 2700 North 2nd Street; c. 1880.
A large, frame house of eclectic design, it was the home of Silas Gardiner,
one of the lumber barons of Lyons and Clinton. The house has influences of the Queen Anne and Tudor Gothic Styles.
The upper story has been resided and other alterations include; the addition of a porch across the front, cutback of the roof
above the entry door, and rebuilding of the roof eave.
Carney House, 2730 North 2nd
Street' 1857 and 1869.
The house is a good example of Italianate Style design adapted to frame construction. It has
first-floor windows with arched wood caps and second-floor stylized window caps. The house incorporates an earlier construction
of 1857. The front porch posts were replaced in 1979 with new wood ones. Well maintained, renovation work has
not compromised the architectural integrity adversely. The old iron fence enhances the
The property was bought by Justus Lund in 1885; Lund later moved across the street to 2804 North 2nd Street in 1895.
Justus Lund House, 2804 North 2nd Street; 1895.
The house is a handsome eclectic design,
strongly influenced by Queen Anne Style. A large, frame house with full attic and gable roofs, it has a wraparound front
porch with circular corner. The corners of the building walls are "clipped" and the roof eaves complete the
rectangular form. The exterior surfaces of the house are the original materials, including wood lap siding and textured
gables of wood shingles.
St. Irenaeus Catholic Church, 2811 North 2nd Street; 1864-1865.
Sited on a hillside, the church is of landmark stature. It is an exceptional example ofLocal limestone construction
and design using Gothic Revival Style. The buildingIs constructed of limestone quarried from bluffs along the river
north of town. TheStone was floated down the river on barges and hauled by horse carts to the site. The cornerstone
was laid in 1864 by Bishop Smyth. The church design was inspired by the cathedral in the parish priest's (Father Frederick
C. Jean) native home of Lyons, France. St. Irenaeus has twin towers with wood spire construction and engaged stone buttresses
on the nave walls. The south and north spires are 166 feet and 136 feet high, respectively. The window arches
are pointed and there is a rosette window in the front gable on the east. The main entrance in the church was originally
on the east and the main entry level was reached via an exterior wood stair and porch. In 1906, the entry was relocated
to the west façade where the site slope allowed the main level to coincide with grade. The nearby rectory was
built in 1874 but now is altered in appearance.The church building was constructed on the site of a frame church that was
built in 1856 and which had replaced an original 1852 church of brick. The original brick building was the first Catholic
church in Clinton County. (Eligible National Historic Register)
92 28th Avenue North; 1869.
This small, frame house is a rare Clinton example of Egyptian Revival Style. The first-floor
window enframements that narrow upward are the most obvious features of the original style. The house has a hip roof
topped with a cupola. There are lean-to additions to the rear and side of vernacular design, as well as an enclosed
front porch addition. (Demolished)
John Tolson House, 3001 Garfield
A small, one and one-half story house, it is an example of early vernacular architecture in Lyons.
The original construction was of one room with loft. Additions to the north and east expanded the house and a porch
was added but has now been removed. The exterior
walls are nor covered with stucco.
Gardiner, Batchelder & Welles Lumber Company, 86 31st Avenue North; 1880
A one and one-half story building,
it has stone foundations and brick walls with stone trim. The original porch was replaced by the present small one.
Most of the windows have been replaced with brick infill to drop window heads to present height. Now vacant, the building
was constructed as the office for the Gardiner, Batchelder and Welles Lumber Company and is of Queen Anne Style. The
lumber mill went out of business in 1894 and the building served as the post office for subsequent businesses, including the
Clinton Lock Company and the Pennsylvania Tire Company.
Clinton Lock Company (Pennsylvania Tire Company), 78 31st Avenue
North; c. 1896.
Built on the site of the Gardiner, Batchelder and Welles Lumber Company, the Clinton Lock Company added
several buildings in 1896, including this two-story brick building plus foundry and secondary building of brick with gable
roofs and monitor clerestories. This brick building, fronting on 31st Avenue North, is a typical mill building of heavy timber
and brick pier construction. About 1910, an addition was built, attached to the west. The complex is typical of
turn-of-the-century industrial construction. The Clinton Lock Company was formed in 1896 and acquired the property of
the Gardiner, Batchelder and Welles Lumber Company after the lumber mill closed in 1894. The Clinton Lock Company closed
about 1960 and the Pennsylvania Tire Company occupied the premises until 1978. The complex of buildings is now vacant.
William Black House/ M. D. Madden House, 265 33rd Avenue North; 1873; William Black,
This frame house of Gothic Revival Style crowns the top of the hill at the end of North Second Street.
A reservoir of the water company in Lyons once also shared the hill. A small, frame barn with hip roof and cupola sits
to the rear of the property. Porches on the south side of the house have been removed. William Black, a contractor
who also built steamboats, built this structure for his home. (Demolished)
Fahey House (Carl M. Bengston House) and John Fahey House, 2424 and 2430 Pershing Boulevard; 1881.
These two brick houses
mirror each other in composition. They are identical in original design except that the plans are reversed. Alterations
are minor, with the enclosure and front porch changes on the northernmost house as the major revision. Although
each house is separate and detached, the two work together to forma a unified setting.
St. Boniface Catholic Church, 2500 Pershing Boulevard; 1908; Martin Heer, Architect, of Dubuque, Iowa; Anton Zwack, Contractor,
A large church, it is 56 feet wide,, 116 feet long and has 124-foot high twin towers on the front that flank
the gable nave. Above the foundation, the exterior walls and buttresses are of red, pressed brick trimmed in blue Bedford
stone. The church is a good example of Second Gothic Revival Style and is a major landmark in the Lyons area of Clinton.
The stained glass windows were the work of the Munic Studio of Chicago, Illinois. The Gothic altar was installed in
September, 1910 and was the work of B. Ferring of Chicago. The 1929 interior renovation was done by Ambross Voss
and the gold leaf work was by Ernest Maketin of Chicago. The cornerstone was laid June 5, 1908 and the church
was dedicated November 27, 1908. (Eligible National Register of Historic Places)
St. Boniface Rectory, 2516 Pershing Boulevard; 1873
A two-story rectory, it has a hip roof topped by a "widow's
walk" with decorative wrought iron railing. The eaves have soffit brackets. The brickwork is of two colors-red
and cream. The lighter color brick is used to form quoins at the corners of the building and to form arched "eyebrows"
above the window openings. The building is a good example of Italianate Style and the excellent condition of the historic
architectural fabric makes the building doubly important. (Eligible National Registry of Historic Places)
Lyons Presbyterian Church/St. Bonifacius Romische Katolische Kirche (St. Boniface Hall), 2518 Pershing Boulevard;
The building was an excellent example of Romanesque Style. Built as a Presbyterian church in 1858, the building
was acquired by German Catholics in late 1861. In January, 1863, St. Bonifaceius Kirche: had its first services in the
building. After a new church was built, in 1908, the building was converted to a parish hall and school. Set atop a
knoll, this brick building had a front façade of engaged pilasters and rhythmic
progression of corbelled brick
arches under the roof eave. The window openings were fully arched. An original bell tower of wood on the ridge
of the roof and near the front was removed in 1908. In 1912, a two-story addition was built at the rear and extended
to connect to the 1880 school building to the north. Unfortunately, these buildings do not exist anymore as on August
27, 1979. The old church and school buildings were demolished.
St. Bonifacius Schulthaus (St. Boniface School), 2520
Pershing Boulevard; 1880.
The building was of brick vernacular design with some influence of the Italianate Style.
A belfrey was located on the ridge and was later removed. A rear wing was built in 1912 and connected this building
to the original 1858 church structure to the south. The building was demolished on August 17, 1979. (Demolished)
Buell Property/Mary Eaton House, 2602 North 3rd Street; 1849 and 1859.
handsome brick structure, simple in composition and execution, perhaps can best be called vernacular design, although there
is a suggestion of both the Federal and Italianate Styles. The two-story house has segmented, arched window openings
and a low-pitched gable roof with wide overhangs supported by soffit brackets. The house, built in 1859, incorporates
an 1849 structure; later additions included a small, one-story, frame wing and a wraparound front porch.
Schick General Hospital, Department of Army (Root Park/The Village), 25th Avenue North at 5th and 6th Streets;
1942-1943; U. S. Army Corps of Engineers.
This is a large acreage that contains row upon row of two-story, brick,
barracks-like structures that were built to house the Schick General Hospital, Department of the Army. Almost all of
the buildings have gable roofs, factory-type roofs with clerestories. And enclosed corridor system, with flat roofs,
connects any of the buildings. Built rapidly and for a utilitarian purpose, the buildings are simple, plain, and generally
devoid of any major attempts to achieve and architectural style. However, the Georgian Style is suggested by a few decorative
features. The site plan also suggest an arrangement based upon Georgian models. The hospital was built on park-owned
land in a war emergency situation. Named for the first medical officer to die in World War ll, William R. Schick, the
hospital had a designed bed capacity of 2,014 beds, although there were 3,120 patients at its peak period in August, 1945.
The hospital was under the Department of Army from March 9, 1943 to February 21, 1946. From 1948-1965, it served as
a Domicilary of the Veterans Administration in 1966, the Job Corps occupied the facility as a training center. The federally
owned facility was reverted back to local ownership and the property has been "parcelized".
CB&Q Railroad Freight Depot, 10th Avenue South at South 2nd Street; c. 1885.
Used as a railroad freight
depot, it is now vacant and abandoned. The building has stone foundation walls, brick superstructure, and bracketed
gable roof. The openings in the brick walls are formed by segmented arches.
Railroad Bridge, C&NW Railroad right-of-way and the Mississippi River; 1909.
This is a double-tracked railroad swing
bridge with steel trusses spanning between stone piers. There is a swing section adjacent to the Iowa shore to allow
boat passage in the main channel of the Mississippi River. Fixed spans are to the east and traverse Little Rock Island,
completing the bridge link to the Illinois side of the river. The bridge replaced an iron railroad bridge, built in
1870, which, in turn, had replaced the first
railroad bridge at Clinton. The first bridge was a wood "Howe
Truss"-type built in 1864-1865.
C. Lamb & Sons Office
Building/Eclipse Lumber Company, 1104-1106 South 2nd Street; 1879; W. W. Sanborn, Architect, of Clinton.
has exterior walls of stucco over masonry. Severely altered, the building's only remaining historic architectural features
are the window caps and sills. The parapet has been rebuilt and all of the original Gothic Revival Style detailing has
been removed. Lower-story window openings have been closed in and upper-story windows replaced. The structure
was once an elegant and stylish office building for the C. Lamb & Sons Lumber Mill. In 1910, George Dulany purchased
it for the Eclipse Lumber Company. (Demolished)
Old Curtis Property, 2nd Street
South at 12th Avenue South; c. 1878.
This was the office building for Curtis Brothers and Company in the late nineteenth
century. The Curtis Company, manufacturers of wood sash and doors, was founded in 1866 by Charles F. Curtis, George
M. Curtis, and Judson E. Carpenter. The building's main entrance and entry steps on the east, front façade have
been removed. Many of the windows have been closed over. An addition of the same style was added on the west.
massive, three-story building was attached on the south. These buildings west of South 2nd Street are now vacant
and are expected to be demolished.
Old Curtis Property, 114 12th Avenue South; most. C. 1920.
This is the vacant
plant of the Curtis Company. Curtis, a woodworking plant, was a national leader in quality wood construction components
such as door, sash, fireplace mantels, entryways, trim, and kitchen cabinets. In 1966, 100 years after its founding,
the Curtis Company went out of the business.
Lamb Boat and Engine Company/Climax Company/
Climax Engine & Pump Company (Waukesha Clinton Plant of Dresser Industries, Inc.), 1812 South 4th Street; 1901.
of the brick buildings of the plant date back to the early 20th century. They are generally good examples of typical
industrial architecture of the period. Common use of materials, forms, and expression f window openings create a unified
setting. Founded by G. E. Lamb, the Lamb Boat and Engine company became the Climax Company in 1916. In 1952, the
name was changed to Climax Engine & Pump Company, Division of Eversharp, Inc. It is now Waukesha (a division of
Dresser Industries, Inc.). (Demilished)
C &NW Railroad Car Shops, 1501 Camanche
Avenue; c. 1910.
The Chicago and Northwestern Railroad car shops form a major industrial complex in Clinton. This
location was developed about 1910. Earlier car shops (located near 8th Avenue South and the river) had become obsolete,
forcing relocation of the facility. Some of the early shop buildings are good examples of early twentieth-century industrial
architecture. Most of the buildings have exterior walls of common brick. A variety of roof types are used, including
gable, flat, and "saw-tooth" roofs. Most of these buildings were constructed about 1910 or after, and are
located along Camanche Avenue. Some new shop buildings, most with metal skins, have been built south of the original
Clinton Country Club, 1501 Harrison Drive;
Although altered considerably through expansions, the clubhouse is still a handsome, sprawling building
that, because of the wood trim panelization of the stucco-covered gables and walls, takes on a Tudor Style feeling.
At the same time, Prairie School influence on the design is suggested, especially in the horizontal emphasis of the building.
Wartburg College (Glendale Apartments), 1900 Glendale Road; 1893-1894.
College, a Lutheran school founded in 1868, developed a major campus in Clinton in 1893. H. W. Seaman of Clinton and
the Reverend O. Hartman, pastor of a local Lutheran church, were instrumental in persuading Wartburg College to locate in
Clinton. C. E. Lamb sold 57 acres of land to the college of which seventeen were retained for the campus and the remainder
sold for residential development to help finance the college. The major building was started in 1893 and completed in
time for the college to open in the fall of 1894.The Romanesque Style building with its centrally located tower is a major
landmark in the southwestern-western part of the city. It has exterior walls of red brick with stone
Designed to house up to two hundred students, it contained classrooms, a chapel, museum, library, kitchen and dining hall.
The house behind the main building was built c. 1906. In 1935, Wartburg closed its Clinton campus and the Waverly campus
became the college's major facility in Iowa. In April of 1944, the building was converted to 68 apartment units.
The main entry was abandoned and the arched opening filled in. (Demilished)
Cotta Haus ("Drews Cotta Haus"), 1850 Glendale Road; 1922-1923.
A two and one-half story brick building,
it was built as a dormitory for Wartburg College, but has been converted to an apartment house with nineteen units.
The building is a good Clinton example of the so-called "Collegiate Gothic" style, popular in the 1920's for educational
William Thomas House ("Old Stone House"). 850 South Bluff Boulevard;
The house is the second oldest (some say it is the oldest) structure still standing in Clinton. It is of
vernacular construction with modern, recent-day additions, in the 1840's, the Old Stone House was an overnight stopping point
for pony mail riders and for other
travelers. The one-story stone house, built in 1836-1838, consisted originally
of one room with fireplace and a sleeping loft above. Later, another room was added. Stone quarried on the site
was used for the walls, and wood materials came from oaks felled nearby. In the 1930's, the house was enlarged and modernized
by E. I. Troeger. Expansion consisted of three bedrooms, kitchen, laundry, and partial basement built with stone from
a Princeton, Iowa quarry. In 1956, the Peterson family had the kitchen modernized and added a family room, garage, and
new entryway of vertical board and batten wood siding.
Judge Chase House/Mt. St.
Clair/Mt. Alverno (Jannan Apartment), 262 North Bluff Boulevard; 1859 and 1869.
The building is a good local example
of the Second Empire Style. Built in 1869 as the house for Judge C. W. Chase, it incorporated an earlier structure of
1859. In 1893, the building was purchased for use as a school, Mt. St. Clair. With relocation of the school to
400 North Bluff Boulevard, the building became a home for the aged. It was sold to a private party in 1971, and converted
to apartments. A tower is centrally located in the east façade to denote the main entrance. Architectural
features of note on the brick building include roof soffit brackets and stylized arched windows. Later alterations include
a rear addition and a modern aluminum entry canopy, now badly damaged, on the
W. J. Young Tomb, Springdale Cemetery; 1896.
The design of the tomb utilizes the Romanesque Style and makes
a simple but powerful architectural statement. As W. J. Young's mansion has been torn down for a super market site,
the tomb is a single architectural remembrance of one of Clinton's historic "lumber barons". The tomb is constructed
of massive, rough-hewn gray granite stone. Short columns of polished granite flank the portal. The tomb is sited atop
a grassy knoll and is composed on axis with several drives. These drives divert and encircle the parcel of land on which
the tomb is centered.
Lyman A. Ellis: "Park Hill Place" (Parkhill Place/Kreiter's)
A large, two-story country house, it has brick exterior walls with two colors of brick. The walls are of red
brick contrasted with cream-colored brick for quoined corners and window arches. The roof eaves have paired soffit brackets.
The house is a good example of Italianate Style. Combined with a spacious and well landscaped site, the architecture
retains a historic image of gracious living.
"Old Stage Coach Stop"/First
and Last Tavern (Charles Horner Property), 1337 Main Avenue; c. 1848.
The building is an example of indigenous construction
for its locality and historic period. It formerly was a tavern and is said to have been a stage coach stop. The
cellar of the building is of local limestone. It is set into a low hillside and exposed on the street side. The
two-story superstructure is of frame construction with recent asbestos siding. The roof is gabled and there is a shed-roofed
addition attached on the west. The building is now vacant. (Demolished)
Dr. A. L. Ankeny House/Lindmeier ("Cherrybank"), 1720 Main Avenue; 1870-1871; Dennis Warren, Builder.
stories high, the building has walls of red brick with buff0colored brick used for quoins at the corners and for the window
arches. A cornice, hip roof, and widow's walk cap the building. Changes to the building include removal of the
front porch in the 1920's. The building is a good example of a fashionable period mansion of Italianate Style.
Dennis Warren built the house, intended for his favorite nephew; but, instead, the
house was sold and first occupied
by Dr. Ankeny. ( Listed National Register of Historic Places)
District, Terrance Drive and Caroline Avenue; c. 1926; Curtis Company Service Bureau with E. E. Green, Architect-in-Charge.
Originally platted in 1892, the Castle Terrace district was developed about 1926 by the Curtis Service Bureau of the Curtis
Company, woodwork manufacturers of Clinton. The project was a promotional effort to show developers, architects, and
builders the application and product of the Curtis Company. The development was on eleven lots in the area bounded by
8th Avenue South and South 14th Street. The architectural design of Castle Terrace hoses was highly eclectic with Tudor
Gothic the primary style utilized. Utility lines were put underground and trees, curving streets, and spacious lawns
created a village atmosphere. (Listed National Historic District)
Vandiren House, 3800 Lakewood Drive; 1961; Phil Feddersen, Architect, of Clinton.
The one-story house had
a hip roof and walls of squared stone masonry and wood. The design of the house is based on Frank Lloyd Wright's modern
house designs called "Usonion". This design approach was also called "organic". Emphasis was
placed on nature, on the use of natural materials and, in theory and more importantly, on and no part can be removed without
destroying the composition.
Karl Broman House, 8th Street NW, RR 3; 1839.
house is an example of vernacular construction of the early settlement period in Clinton and Lyons. It is a two-story
masonry building covered over with stucco and has a low-pitched gable roof. The building has one-story frame additions
with shed roofs to the front and side, and window replacements. Among the out-buildings is a stone smoke house.
Stone Lookout Tower, Eagle Point Park; 1937; WPA.
This stone lookout
tower is circular in plan. Lancet windows pierce the outside wall to permit natural light into the winding stair on
the interior. Designed and built by WPA, the tower is a romantic architectural element and a major landmark in Eagle
Point Park. The design of the tower seems to have been inspired by Norman fortress architecture.
Footbridge-Eagle Point Park, Eagle Point Park , Eagle Point Park; c. 1913 and c. 1935; WPA
Spanning a small
ravine, the footbridge is built of local limestone in an uncoursed rubble pattern. The walking surface is concrete.
The footbridge, with the texture of the stone rubble and with the flowing lines, is a romantic design and pleasing addition
to the park setting.
Lodge-Joyce's Park (Lodge-Eagle Point Park), Eagle Point Park;
c. 1913 and c 1935; WPA rebuilt c. 1935.
Originally built as a pavilion for Joyce's Park, the building had an arcade
around the perimeter. The building was completely rebuilt about 1935 by the WPA. A platform was built with stone
walls for the lodge. The lodge has wood siding in log cabin fashion and stone piers. Alterations in 1967 to the
lodge included; construction of an entrance canopy, designed by Clinton architect, Phil Feddersen, and replacement of the
windows with casements of redwood. There was also interior alterations including new toilet rooms.
In a rustic architectural style, compatible to it natural setting, the handsome building serves appropriately as the lodge
for the park. With respect for nature and with a prominent location overlooking the Mississippi River, the building
forms an image and focus ideally suited for the beautiful Eagle Point Park.
OF SOUTH 4TH STREET
The west side of the 100 block of South 4th Street is a built-up frontage, tight to the street, that
is an example of late nineteenth-and early twentieth-century commercial architecture. The integrity of the west side
of this block is good, with only one building intrusion and some ground-floor storefront alterations, although the east side
of the street in non-descript with mixed building types and uses. Recorded buildings within the district are identified
as 159a through 159e and are shown on Map No. 4. Descriptions follow:
a) P. C. Wulf Property
(Clausen Hardware), 122 South 4th Street; 1910-1911; N. P. Work, Architect, of Clinton; Ed Krieger, Builder.
two-story brick building, it is twenty-three feet wide and occupies a corner site. The upper-story windows have stone
sills and lintels; a tin cornice caps the exterior walls. The South 4th Street storefront has been altered and a new,
one-story addition built to the
b) The Flower Shoppe, 118
South 4th Street; c. 1895.
A two-story commercial building. It has a brick veneer front with rolled asphalt siding
on the visible party wall. The front has a tin cornice, window cap, and bay window. The ground-floor storefront
has been altered.
c) W.T.O. Counselling, 116 South 4th Street; c. 1874.
Built of brick,
the building has three windows of segmented, arched openings on the upper story of the front façade. A cornice
is formed by intricate brickwork at the parapet. The ground-floor storefont has been altered.
D. J. Siding and independent Optical, 108-110 South 4th Street; c. 1889.
The building has brick exterior walls
with stone window sills, string courses, and trim. The front façade is divided into two storefronts. These
have been altered recently and an asphalt-shingled canopy constructed. The building design was influenced by the Romanesque
e) Peter C. Wulf Hardware/Thomas Peterson Grocery and Peterson's Hall (Union Supply Company),
100-102 South 4th Street; 1892.
The upper story of the brick building utilizes tin for window caps and roof cornice.
The ground floor has recently been altered with stone cladding and the addition of a large, full-length sigh. The upper-story
windows have also been replaced and panels installed. The building is of eclectic design with the Renaissance Revival
Style as the major design source.
900 and 1000 BLOCK OF SOUTH 4TH STREET
one and one-half blocks of the west side of South 4th Street (from addresses 914 through 1020) comprise a continuous frontage
of architecturally significant commercial buildings. All except one (160b), built in 1912, pre-date the 1900's.
The east side of the street is an unfortunate intrusion with no continuity or integrity. Gas stations, several residential
structures, and a pornography shop comprise this frontage. However, the west side of the street, north from 11th Avenue
South for about one and on-half blocks, has two- and three-story structures that front on the street and create a long, unified
wall of brick, commercial buildings. Except for some ground-floor storefront alterations, the buildings retain considerable
integrity of historic architecture. This "preservation" is due to neglect rather than to a conscious effort
to retain authenticity. This west-side frontage of the street serves as a neighborhood convenience cent for the adjacent
neighborhood, while the east side of the street mainly serves the non-resident motorists on highways 67 and 30 that route
on South 4th Street here. The 900 and 1000 blocks of South 4th Street are indicated on Map No. 4 and are identified
as 160a through 160h. Descriptions follow:
a) Smith Brothers' General Store, 1014-1020 South
4th Street; c. 1874 and c. 1885.
This assemblage of four storefronts converted into one building for one occupancy is
unique from several aspects; the common use of brick; similar architectural features and details; and, more importantly, the
integrity of the complex, by way of the turn-of-the -century appearance. There is little in the way of modernization
to detract from the historic, visual aspects of the buildings(s). The building style may be best described as commercial
vernacular. The occupant of the building, Smith Brothers' General Store, is itself a unique, old-time operation.
The traditional methods of display and merchandising, as well as the building exterior, combine to create a wide appeal for
this "old-fashioned" general store.
b) Red Shield Store. 1010-1012 South 4th Street;
A large, three -story commercial brick building, it has two colors of face brick on the front façade.
The ground-floor storefront has been altered. A tin cornice on the street façade and a two-story bay window above
the alley are the major architectural features of interest.
c) Seaman Block, 1004-1008 South
4th Street; c. 1885.
The building is handsome with the simple but exquisite use of warm, red brick. Although of
Italianate Style influence, the building design is probably better described as commercial vernacular. The ground-floor
storefronts have been altered. Cast-iron columns and high store windows have been replaced with brick, of compatible
color and pattern, to create new storefronts. The simplicity and directness of the design creates a
seemingly modern street façade for the building.
d) Seaman Building (Calnan Hardware),
1002 South 4th Street; c. 1885.
The front façade of the building has an upper story of brick with stone string
course, a cornice formed by corbeled brick, and a pair of two-sided bay windows. Two slender, cast-iron columns, with
Corinthian capitals, flank the entry steps and doorway. The building is of eclectic design influence and has an interesting
composition of architectural features, such as the two-sided bays. In addition, the building is an excellent example
of period commercial architecture, with considerable integrity of original construction and appearance retained.
e) S. C. Seaman Groceries (Easy Wash Laundromat), 1000 South 4th Street; 1874.
A brick building
of simplified Italianate Style, the structure has considerable historic integrity. The ground-floor storefront is of
cast iron and wood. The clerestory portion of the storefront windows has been altered by the addition of panels and
f) Pierson Block, 920-926 South 4th Street; 1888
The tin cornice is a dominating
and spectacular architectural feature of the building. With cornice, handsome brickwork, and remodeled but compatible
store-fronts, the building is an excellent Clinton example of a large, Victorian-era commercial building of Italianate Style
g) R. Barton Building (Earl Bachelder Property/Fourth Street Café),
916-918 South 4th Street; 1875.
Of Italianate Style influence, the building has a handsome upper-story façade
that features extensive use of brick with segmented arches and cornice-like parapet. The ground-floor storefront has
been drastically altered by the addition of stone veneer, canopy, and modern aluminum windows. The upper stories of
the north, 22-foot frontage have had the windows replaced with in-fill panels and new windows. (Demolished)
h) Haywood and Son's Bank (Lucille Hawk Property), 914 South 4th Street;
The Italianate Style building
once housed a bank. Although the upper story of the front façade, with its two contrasting colors of face brick
is generally intact, the windows and ground-floor storefront have been drastically altered with new siding and aluminum with
the creation of four apartment units. (Demolished)
100-200 BLOCKS OF SOUTH 2ND
The west side of South 2nd Street has two, block-long frontages of late nineteenth-century and early twentieth-century
commercial structures. The buildings are of brick and are two stories high, except for a single, frame, one-story building.
With the exception of many storefront changes and some upper-story revisions, building integrity is preserved. The east
side of the street, unfortunately, bears little resemblance to the district frontage as new construction and alterations have
changed the total street character. Nevertheless, the west side of the street exhibits a continuity of material, height,
scale, and usage to define a district of commercial architecture. The buildings of the district are identified as 161a
through 161n and appear on Map No. 4. Descriptions follow:
a) Eagles Lodge Hall/Hall's Appliance
Center, 218-222 South 2nd Street; 1929.
This commercial vernacular building has brick exterior walls devoid of ornamental
features except for a continuous stone string course and corbeled brickwork. The ground floor has an altered storefront.
b) The Hair Stable, 216 South 2nd Street; 1905.
The narrow commercial building, which has only
a twenty-foot frontage, is brick with a tin cornice and bay window. The storefront is intact with a wide expanse of
glass and a slender, round, cast-iron colum.
c) Chris Martensen Property, 214 South 2nd
Street; c. 1864.
A twenty-foot wide, commercial building, it has a ground-floor storefront that is still intact, with
cast iron, wood, and glass. The upper story is brick with segmented, arched window openings and corbeled brick-work
at the parapet.
d) Carlson Paint, 212 south 2nd Street; 1899.
This commercial building is
brick on the upper story, with a tin cornice and bay window. The ground-floor store front has been altered and modernized.
e) James Hass Property, 201-210 South 2nd Street; 1893-1894.
A two-story brick for the upper
exterior walls. The parapet has been rebuilt and now has a stone coping. A major change consists of an addition
of corrugated siding for sign panels above the storefront windows.
f) Douglass H. Lass Property,
200-202 South 2nd Street; 1885.
The ground-floor storefronts of the building have been changed and some of the window
openings have been altered with raised sills. Despite alterations, the building retainsmuch of the original design intent
of the Italianate Style adaptation.
g) Hass Grocery (Hass and Son Grocery), 122 South 2nd Street,
A two-story commercial building, it has exterior walls of brick with a tin cornice. The window heads of the
upper story have been altered and major portions of the south exterior well have been rebuilt. The building is of commercial
vernacular design with some detailing of the tin cornice. Jurgen Hass started the grocery in this building in 1890 and
the business is still run by the Hass family
h) James Hass Property, 118-120 South 2nd Street;
This commercial building has a cast-iron storefront which retains its original appearance. Alterations include
glass block as replacement for two-upper-story windows and upper parapet brickwork rebuilding.
Hass Property/Congressman Tom Tauke Office, 1892.
A two-story brick building of simple lines and design, it has been
considerable altered, but the overall massing, materials, and forms of the building are harmonious and compatible with other
buildings in the district.
j) Kamp Building (G & D Electric company), 114 South 2nd Street;
The small commercial building has a main façade of brick with tin cornice, tin-clad bay window, and a
ground-floor storefront of cast-iron columns, wood, and glass. Except for the addition of a sign panel, the building
retains much of its original appearance and
k) Sharon's Beauty Shop, 112 South
2nd Street; 1913.
A brick commercial building, it has a main façade comprised of segmented, arched window openings
and a tin cornice. The storefront has been "modernized" with vertical wood siding and asphalt-shingled canopy
roof. The north wall facing the alley has been
l) Bassler Shoe Shop,
110 South 2nd Street; c. 1874.
This is a very small, one-story commercial building of frame construction. It has
a gable roof and a false front of wood siding. The south side wall is sided with rolled asphalt. The storefront has
new finishes of wood siding and glass. The building was bought in
1912 and remodeled into a shoe shop. The
building was moved from across the street to this site in 1919.
m) KROS and KSAY Radio Station,
106-108 South 2nd Street; 1908.
The brick building houses a radio station. A tin cornice is the most distinguishing
characteristic of the commercial vernacular building. Alterations include the modernized ground-floor storefront.
n) Horace Anthony Property/Koetter Brothers (Mickel's; Goddard's; Ehlers Tru-Value
Hardware), 100-104 South 2nd Street; 1889.
A two-story brick building, it consists of three narrow storefronts.
The Ground-floor storefronts are of wood, glass, and cast iron. Additions of signs and sign panels are the major changes
from the original appearance of the building. (Burned)
400 BLOCK OF NORTH 2ND
Although not a district in the usual sense, four buildings on the west side of the 400 block of North 2nd Street
define a unified commercial frontage of period architecture. These buildings are identified as number 162a through 162d,
and appear on Map No. 4. Description follow:
a) Edwin Old's Building
(Petersen's: The Maple Shop), 410-412 North 2nd Street; 1892.
A two-story commercial building, it has a front façade
of brick with tin cornice and ornate window heads. The party wall have been clad over with aluminum siding and the ground-floor
storefront has been altered. The design of the building is eclectic with the Italianate Style the most influential source
of inspiration. (Burned)
b) Jack's Tavern/ H & R Block, 420-422 North
2nd Street; 1894-1895.
This commercial building, of Italianate Style inspiration, has an upper-story façade of
brick with a tin cornice and window "eyebrows". The ground-floor storefronts have been drastically altered.
c) Buelow's T. V. Service, 424 North 2nd Street; c. 1900.
The building is one of
the few in Clinton to utilize sheet tin as a wall surface material. The pattern on the sheet tin was intended to simulate
masonry. The design of the building can best be described as eclectic with some lingering influences of the Italianate
Style, as exhibited by the cornice treatment, while the use of the bay window can be attributed to the popularity of the Queen
Anne Style. (Burned)
(d) J. Q. Jefferies Real Estate, 426 North 2nd Street; c.
The building is a commercial structure of two stories. The north wall is of brick with "punched-in"
windows, capped with segmented arches. The east façade on the upper story has been altered with new windows and
vertical wood siding. The ground-floor storefront has had some alterations but the original feeling has basically been
Main Avenue, east of North 3rd Street, is
the shopping and commercial center for the Lyons area. It once was the major downtown street for the town of Lyons
but now fills a neighborhood convenience/service function. A one and one-half block frontage of Main Avenue, east
of Roosevelt Street, is the heart of the historic downtown and is of architectural significance. The buildings are two
stories high except for several one-and three-story buildings; all front directly on the public right-of-way.
The Main Avenue historic district limit on the west is the public square at Roosevelt Street; and the district extends east
to include about a one and one-half block frontage on the north side of Main Avenue. Some of the more important old
buildings along the avenue, including the three-story Gage Building, built in 1861, are within this short frontage.On the
whole, the district retains enough historic buildings and integrity to create a well-defined, pleasant shopping district that
has importance as an example of nineteenth-century commercial architecture. Buildings in the district are identified
as numbers 163a through 163g and appear on Map No. 4. Descriptions follow:
a) Silver Dollar Tavern,
76 Main Avenue; c. 1865.
This is a two-story commercial building of brick with cornice and window caps. The ground-floor
store-front has been rebuilt and clad with stone veneer. The building, of Italianate Style, is a good Clinton example
of nineteenth-century commercial construction and design.
b) Reter Building (Mar Gee Plastics),
80 Main Avenue; c. 1874.
Similar in appearance and detailing to the 75-59 Main Avenue building across the street, this
Italianate Style building uses two colors of brick to accent the corbelled and relief patterns of the brickwork. The
ground-floor storefront has been rebuilt in a fashion of "historicism". (Eligible National Register of Historic
c) Miller and Schumm (Helen's Tap Tavern), 84 Main Avenue; c. 1874.
Similar to 80 Main Avenue next door, this 26-foot wide store makes use of red and cream-colored brick to emphasize the projecting
and intricate brickwork on the front façade. Although maintenance is lacking, the building seemingly retains
its historic features. (Eligible National Register of Historic Places)
d) J. P. Gage Union Hall (Gage Building/E. Z. Does It/Davis Studio), 86-88 Main Avenue; 1861.
three-story commercial structure of painted brick, the building has corbeled brick under the projecting cornice on the front
façade. The J. P. Gage Union Hall is an excellent example of early Italianate Style. It is the highest
and most visually important building along the Main Avenue commercial frontage; and, except for the ground-floor storefronts,
it has historic integrity with retention of most of its significant architectural components. (Eligible National Register
of Historic Places)
e) William H. Gode (Pete Glass Co.), 90 Main
A twenty-two foot wide and two-story high brick commercial building. It has a small cornice with
a series of small arches formed by corbeled brick under the cornice. The ground-floor storefront has been altered.
The eclectic building design exhibits influences of Italian Romanesque Style. The building is of harmonious design and
consistent material with the J. P. Gage Union Hall next door.
f) Dreesen Building (Jack Soesbe
Barber Shop), 92 Main Avenue; c. 1870.
The front façade has a "false" front with high parapet, a cornice
with brackets, and siding which appears to be salvaged and applied from another building. The building was remodeled,
does not detract seriously from the historic integrity of the building. The major architectural significance of this
structure is the use of Renaissance Revival Style and its interpretation in fame construction for a commercial building. This
contrasts with the other, old, commercial structures of masonry construction in the Main Avenue district.
1st National Bank of Lyons (Lyons Masonic Tenple), 94 Main Avenue; 1907.
This former bank building has brick party
walls with cut and dressed limestone on the front façade. The windows of the front façade have been altered
with re-placement by glass block and corrugated metal siding between the ground floor and upper-story windows, The design
of the bank exterior is very eclectic with strong influences from the Second Renaissance and Classical Revival Styles which
were popular in the early twentieth century in America. (Eligible National Register of Historic Places with further
research and/or sympathetic restoration/rehabilitation)